Guest Post: Working in Winter

Happy Tuesday, everyone! I’m excited to share another guest post from the lovely Alicia. Remember, you can read her blog over at Break Out of the Bell Jar! Thanks for the post, Alicia, and I hope everyone enjoys it as much as I did!

Alicia Oval

Alicia 12-11-12 1
This outfit is more or less what I wore to the interview for this job. Just replace the tights with nude pantyhose and the boots with modest nude-colored Kate Middleton-esque heels. I adore this dress. I ran into a teacher after school had ended while wearing this little number and he told me I looked “too professional and pretty” to work at my law firm. He was only kidding around. He’s a prosecutor and we’re a criminal defense firm. He and my bosses get along fabulously and he was by FAR my favorite teacher. His sense of humor is dry, a little morbid, and sarcastic. Just like me! Angel

Alicia 12-11-12 2

Dress: Fred Meyer | Tights: Calvin Klein | Jacket: American Rag, both from Macy’s | Boots: Overstock.com

That was supposed to be my “angry fake model” expression. It looks more like I wasn’t ready for the picture, but I still like the photo.

Now, these boots. I made an extra effort to get these boots into the picture. Not really my favorite. When I purchased them online, I thought they’d be sturdier and more attractive. But they make great winter boots anyway. My favorite part about them is that when I walk, they make a soft padding sound instead of a click-clack. I love the click-clack too, but sometimes a girl wants to be stealthy!

Alicia 12-11-12 3
As for this last photo. Well, I wanted to do a pose I hadn’t done before. Ever. But the point of the outfit is that it’s relatively warm in the winter. The tights are a little thin, but they protect against the wind. The jacket is also a little light, but helps seal in some heat. The dress is very, very thick and warm. Overall, the outfit is a little too black-and-grey for my taste. I feel comfortable and pretty in it, anyway. And I think it had the desired professional-looking effect I was looking for the first time I wore it. After all, I landed the job!

One response to “Guest Post: Working in Winter

  1. Pingback: Another Guest Post | Breaking Out of the Bell Jar

Leave a Reply

