Guest Post: Date Night!

Alright, folks, I’m super excited to announce that Alicia is back and thrilled to be doing another guest post! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Alicia Oval

Saturday marked 3 months of marriage for Mr. S and I. We weren’t going to do anything special. We went to Red Robin for dinner, had a few drinks, and decided against going to see the kids’ movie we’d planned on. But, even though we were going to a burger joint, I went all out as to my wardrobe and hair.

Alicia Date Night 1

Dress: Guess | Leggings: Calvin Klein| Boots: Gift from Mr. S, Fred Meyer | Necklace: Gift from my mom

I picked this dress of a rack at Macy’s, thinking “this will probably look awful, but it is so pretty, I have to try it on.” I put it on and was amazed at how sexy I felt. And it was ridiculously on sale. Then I knew I needed some tights or leggings, not black, to wear with the dress. When I picked them out, I thought they were red. Turns out, they’re the burgundy/purple pictured here. Loved it! (Imagine that in a high-pitched singy voice.) The lace-ish detail on them was a high selling point.

Alicia Date Night 2
Yes, that’s an open-lace back to that dress. Marci is probably sitting there going “Oh, that’s why she picked it out. Lace.” Haha, yes I’m quite predictable. People can go shopping for me and grab just about any lace thing and I will wear it. But this dress and these leggings were so comfortable. And I’m pretty accustomed to boots with heels, so I felt no pain or awkwardness at all in this outfit.

Dress: Guess | Leggings: Calvin Klein | Boots: Gift from Mr. , Fred Meyer | Necklace: Gift from my mom

It usually takes me 15 minutes to get ready. This took me 45 minutes. The last time my hair was curly was my wedding. The last time I curled my own hair was for Halloween of 2009. And I think the last time I wore makeup was Halloween. But I rather like the semi-fifties way my hair turned out. And the makeup was simply eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, and lipstick. I don’t like to wear foundation and blush. Mainly because I can’t find the perfect match but also I feel that I’m young enough to get away with it. Mr. S took these pictures and he also let me walk around with him, despite the borderline inappropriateness of my appearance. I felt amazing and, despite the bland idea for a date, I had a lot of fun. I’m lucky in that I can have so much fun just hanging around the house or eating at a chain restaurant with my husband.

Enough with the gooey stuff. The moral of the story is that date night was a success. And the food was yummy. (Free advertising!)

One response to “Guest Post: Date Night!

  1. Pingback: Guest Post « Breaking Out of the Bell Jar

Leave a Reply

