Quilt Show Fashions

My mom asked if I wanted to tag along to a quilt show she was volunteering at with her guild, and I said sure why not. It was a ton of fun and filled with very sweet women. I also had some time to carve away and get some writing done, although never as much as I want. Figuring out what to wear to a quilt show was probably more thought out and fun than it should have been, but I had just gone shopping and wanted to incorporate new things. And if you don’t understand the sentiment behind that last sentence, I don’t think we can be friends. Sorry.

The exciting new article I added to my wardrobe was a pair of black skinny jeans. It’s almost embarrassing how long I’ve been jonesing for a pair, but I wanted to exercise self control. I wanted to hold back a little bit. That lasted a couple of months, and then I decided the best way to celebrate the news that I had a new job was buying a pair of pants to wear to said job. So that happened.

Sweater Jeans & Shoes: Kohls | Shirt: Thrifted, Handmade | Brooch: Handmade | Keffiyeh: gift from a friend, Palestine

I figured dressing for a day around incredibly creative quilters meant I should throw on some handmade stuff. The pin I made a while back, and the shirt I thrifted–although it’s very clear from the construction that it was handmade. The sweater, jeans and shoes are new. And PS feel free to notice that those shoes are wedges, and that I spent the whole day parading around and letting the world think I’m a whopping two inches taller than I actually am. 5’5″ impersonating, here I come!

Okay so as you’re reading this, just know that I’m probably at my first day of work. Unless you’re like me, and you let the posts in your google reader stack up until you’re hopelessly behind and finding out what people did two months ago. In which case, welcome to 2013! Let’s hope the world didn’t end after all, eh? Made it past December 21st, did we? Woot!

One response to “Quilt Show Fashions

  1. Yay for new duds to celebrate a new job! 🙂 I love those shoes. They’re cute and look super-comfy, which to me, is a magical combination upon which all other shoes should follow suit. And those black skinny jeans look great on you! I can see why you’ve been wanting one.

    Confession: I was thisclose to asking you where your pin was, because the black and white blended in so well with your keffiyeh. Kinda glad I found it before I looked silly.

Leave a Reply

