Fashion for Bookworms

Happy Halloween! It’s no secret that I like to read. An awful lot. An awful awful awful lot. My favorite genre is Russian classic literature, and I love love love authors who have been inspired by the genre (re: Haruki Murakami, David James Duncan, etc). So when I was in Portland with David a few years back, I jumped hardcore at the Master & Margarita shirt. It’s one of my all-time favorite books. I’m just, as you guys may have noticed, pretty bad at styling tshirts beyond anything that I would normally consider pajama-wear. We can pretend this is my blogger-styled Halloween costume. Book Nerd Extraordinare.

Sweater: Target | Shirt: Out of Print Clothing | Skirt: Gap Outlet | Tights: gift, Express | Shoes & Scarf: Thrifted | Bag: H&M

This was my best attempt. And probably my only attempt, since it just feels so weird every time I try and wear tshirts outside of a lazy sweatpants day in the house. Yes, skeptics, those days totally happen.

The weirdest part, though, wasn’t mixing a tshirt with a professional skirt. Nope. It was accidentally matching my outfit to my book, Telegraph Avenue, which is Michael Chabon’s new book.

I haven’t finished it, but when I do I’ll be sure to update the blog I have going on over at Like A Small Fire. So far, though, I’m actually drowning in it a little. The pace is not so much with the good, and it’s like jello on the eyes. The dried out kind of jello that a spoon has to push through. But I have higher hopes for the last third of the book. I’m an optimist. Oh and lest you think I’m slightly strange for matching my outfit, just know–so did a snail. So did a snail.

3 responses to “Fashion for Bookworms

  1. Marcel doesn’t judge…too harshly…:)

  2. For an attempt, I think you did splendidly! This is one of my favorite outfits on you in a long time (and that’s saying a lot,because I love a whole lot of your outfits)! I think it’s worth wearing outside of Halloween. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂 It’s actually something I wore a month or so ago and never got around to posting. I wanted to theme up my Halloween post, though, so yeah.

Leave a Reply

