Guest Post: Fashion Phobia

What better way to kick off a new month than another guest post from my favorite not-a-blogger-yet-blogger, Alicia? I hope you guys love reading her stuff as much as I do, because I get pretty excited about sharing her with you!

As many women do, I have a few fashion fears, faux pas, and even fashion phobias. I am 5″4′, between a size 8 and 12, and I have very easy-to-spot hips. One of my favorite styles is the cute little wasit belt around a top or sweater or as a detail on a dress. It accents the shape of those gifted with the perfect waist for it. Like Kels. Don’t get me wrong, I love my waist. But my body simply is not correctly proportioned for belts. UNTIL…

Dress: INC from Macy’s | Shoes: DSW | Sweater: Random department store in Napa.

I originally thought this dress was a cute top with a separate leather skirt on the mannequin. When I asked the sales associate at Macy’s where to find the top, she pointed me to the dress. Which brings me to another fashion phobia of mine: leather skirts. How do you pull it off without looking like a biker chick or just plain out of place? Why, you combine it with the adorable top to which it is attached! Normally I would walk away, wistfully wondering what if. What if, just maybe, that was the dress that conquered my fears of leather skirts and waist belts? Luckily, Mr. S was there with me. He thought I would look sexy in it. When I looked at the price tag and saw it had originally been $160 and was reduced to $60, I tried it on. And loved it. When I went to check out, it was actually even further on sale. Long story short, with 8.2% sales tax, I still got it for under $50.

You might take special notice of the shoes. I have no shoe phobias. I love these babies. I bought them online at DSW. I made the gutsy move to try to pair my two loves together as a work outfit. (Ok, maybe some wouldn’t find it gutsy, but dangit, I was wearing a leather skirt to a law office!)

In the picture above, you can see more of the little belt that somehow worked and that supermodel feeling I get when I wear heels. Or leather, apparently. However, because my teensy-weensy town is uber conservative as far as work clothing is concerned, I could not wear the bare shoulders to work. And thus, I regretfully donned a sweater. Really, I love the sweater, too. Mr. S and I picked it up at some random department store in downtown Napa on our honeymoon. But I feel it takes away from the dress itself. It came down to the choice of not wearing an outfit I absolutely adored and compromising on my own fashion sense.


The dress was just too good not to wear. And I don’t feel I compromised too much. My bosses didn’t say anything about it at all. And I recovered fully from two of my fashion phobias! Maybe next I’ll overcome my irrational fear of pastel skinny jeans… or not.

2 responses to “Guest Post: Fashion Phobia

  1. Very beautiful! I would never have guessed it was all one piece. And I love those shoes! Do you have a fear of coloured belts? Because I think a bright belt would look great with this! Is that law office friendly?! And if not….date night!

    • FormerlyLisaS, the little black belt came with the outfit. I don’t have a fear of colored ones, but I like the solid black look. And my bosses didn’t say anything about the dress. But I think I’ll space out when I’ll wear it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

