Feeling Oh So British

Here’s something that’s probably not a shocker: I love Kate Middleton’s styling (not to mention envy her wardrobe and continue to drool over her collection of fascinators). So imagine how excited I’ve been with my recent exploration into the realm of business casual as I’ve finally been forced to tap into her pulled together look and explore what makes an outfit look professional not only in a work setting but also in my “real life” (aka all the rest of the time I’m not at work or hanging out at home in sweats). And, what’s been most thrilling, I think I’m finally getting the hang of this fun, classy look!

As I was getting dressed this morning, I channeled my favorite princess and decided I just needed to tuck in my shirt…I’ve never been a shirt tucker iner (with pants anyways) so I was admittedly weirded out that my instinct told me to do so but as I shoved my shirt into my pants (so eloquent, I know) I realized it not only worked, but I liked it. I’m pretty sure this is what growing up feels like…though is it really growing up if you’re still dressing like your favorite princess…or if you’re wearing a sweater you got at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter?

Oh yes folks, this is a legit, Scottish made, wool, Gryffindor sweater just like the cast of Harry Potter wore in the movies. I’ve been beyond excited to finally wear this gem so I could show you how I planned to incorporate my favorite souvenir of my summer travels into my wardrobe (guess that’s what happens when you buy the coolest wool sweater ever in July of the sunniest year you’ve ever lived through…seriously it’s usually rainy and gray by labor day out here can’t the weather just let a girl wear her nerdy sweater?!).  As I got dressed and was feeling ever so British tucking my shirt in and taking a few queues from Kate (cough cough matching belt and boots), I decided it was time to up the British (and nerd) factor and throw on the ultimate British sweater. A gosh did it feel good…and warm…they’re not kidding around about how warm these wool sweaters are!

Sweater:Wizarding World of HP//Shirt:Express//Jeans:Gap//Boots:Lucky Brand//Belt:A&E//Bag:Sorial via TJMaxx

I’m really excited for my upcoming posts because it’s been really fun to stretch my fashion limits, try new things, and let my style evolve alongside the other changes I’ve been experiencing. With that, does anyone else feel especially British lately or love Duchess Kate’s style as much as I do? If so I’d love to hear about which styles you’ve been digging because I wanna drool over them right along side you!

4 responses to “Feeling Oh So British

  1. Hi, it’s Alicia. I love Kate Middleton. She inspired me to buy nude pumps! And you look adorable.

Leave a Reply

