I Want To Do Whatever Common People Do

Please tell me I’m not the only Pulp fan around these parts… I have no idea why their music stuck so thoroughly in my brain, but it did. Regardless, I’ve had a fun past week of dressing like a commoner. That is to say, I’ve been wearing jeans. A lot. Also, stretchy pants. This is what unemployment does to me, apparently. Also that is what dog sitting and lots of walks have done. I’m dressing like a normal person…

(Insert shudder)

It’s not all bad, though. I’ve still kept some color, and I’ve managed to keep some funky weird necklaces and scarves, too, so maybe I won’t blend in with the masses too much. Or maybe I should stop making mountains out of molehills, some might say.

Oh those silly silly Somes. At least my incredible wit and humor remains in tact despite the contact with such plain clothes.

Okay honestly, though? This is definitely one of my favorite outfits I’ve worn in a long time, and I’ve been wearing variations on it for the past week. This particular day was actually our anniversary, which we spent relaxing and eating cupcakes and reading books acquired with our newly established library cards. All in all, a perfect outfit for that kind of day.

Sweater & Shirt: Target, Leggings: Gift, Boots: Mi Shoes, Scarf: Thrifted, Earrings: present from David

PS Yes I know how I sound. And yeah, it’s only partially put on. Don’t worry–when I say things like this in real life, David is usually pretty quick with rejoining “Oh, sorry, I just got a whole lot of hipster clogged right on my ear just then…” I am who I am.

2 responses to “I Want To Do Whatever Common People Do

  1. Ick. I don’t associate with common folk. Who are you and what have you done with the always funky and fashion-forward Marcia!? Just kidding. Before reading this post, I just looked at the photos and my first thought was, she is so damn cute. I seriously love how easy this outfit looks, while still looking put together. I find it so hard to put those kinds of looks together. Somehow, no matter what I do, I end up looking frumpy. It’s a hard knock life. 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying unemployment. I think I could for a month of that myself!

    • If it’s any consolation, I almost always feel frumpy in whatever outfit I end up wearing (common apparel aside). Maybe it’s just self-imposed judgement. I think you always look super adorable and snazzy in your outfits–I can never pull of jeans and casual ware as well as you do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

