What to Wear on a Bike Ride

I’ve posted before, a little superciliously some might say, about what to wear on a bike ride. A lot of fashion bloggers have gotten slack about not showcasing their helmets in their bike-related outfit posts, but responded with the excuse that helmets are ugly and therefore not featured, but are still a part of their daily bicycle commute.

To which I say–screw it. To get an honest-to-god photo of what I look like on a bike, I once again travel back in time to when David (my sweet Monsieur) and I had a picnic planned in a park after work. I biked there, and he had his camera. The verdict?

I’ve found that almost everything I have in my wardrobe works for biking. Most importantly, of course, is my helmet. I also find that I can wear my skirts and dresses while biking, and the process for deciding what works how is easy, as long as you follow a few simple rules.

First, invest in a pair of biking shorts. These will save you a lot of grief. Also, if you’re like me and wear tights with everything, you should note that darker, more opaque pairs have a similar effect as biking shorts for all intents and purposes.

Jacket, Vest, Shoes & Purse: Thrifted; Flower pin: H&M; Dress: Sojourner

Furthermore, if you’re planning on wearing a skirt or dress on a bike ride that you haven’t tested before, it’s good to build in enough time to test it out for a block or so before really heading out. I write this rule as words of caution, and less from personal experience, because every now and then I would find myself biking to work and resorting to biking one-handed while my other hand frantically tucked the hem of my skirt under my bum ever ten seconds. Those were the days I’d walk my bike home and feel really silly.

To see what the other girls participating in What to Wear are wearing on their bikes, by all means check out these links. I promise, you won’t be disappointed!

10 responses to “What to Wear on a Bike Ride

  1. Hahahaha, I’ve totally done the one-handed bike dance before! Sage advice, lady. 🙂 Adorable dress!

  2. very nice! good tips on how to ride with a dress; I’ll keep that in mind if I do!

  3. Haha I’m jumping around to all your biking photos, you guys are all too cute 🙂 Fun idea!

  4. Cheers lady! I totally did not include a helmet photo! Damn! Love this outfit!

  5. Omg, that is the cutest birdie dress I have ever seen! I so want one just like it. Great outfit, Marcia! 🙂

    • Thank you! I love the print but I’ve found the actual dress itself fits really strange–there are two sets of elastic on the waist, so it bunches. Which is why I usually wear it with a vest. Those bespectacled birds, though, they keep the dress in my closet!

  6. I am intrigued by your bag…is that an extra piece of fabric on there? Looks great, whatever it is!!

    Last pics I took of me on my bike were with my helmet. I think it looks hot…and smart!

    • It was a ribbon that strings around the bag, yeah. I found it at a thrift store and it had a side pocked filled full of ten year old airline coupons. I’ve changed out the ribbon a couple times but man I love this bag.

  7. Haha! I’ve totally done the one-handed ride many times – good advice about going for a test ride 🙂 Love this look- such a cute dress!!

  8. I honestly never wear a helmet… I should though, I know but I don’t even have one, really bad! But I love your dress!

Leave a Reply

