Stripes: Life Happens

Oh yes, sometimes life happens and it means one of us can’t blog. Usually, however, it’s only one of us who ends up a little distracted from the blog but this week turned out to be the perfect storm for both Sequins and myself to have to take a little blog hiatus. All I can say for my side of things (don’t wanna put any words in Miss Sequins’ mouth, though I have a strong feeling she would agree with the following statement) is “whoops”.

This last week has been filled with some really great things and some less than great (but still not bad, no need to worry) things as well as my body adapting to this new grown up sleep schedule. I haven’t been on a regular wake up/go to bed routine in the least since I was in high school and even then it was spotty at best (I was the queen of before dinner naps then staying up until all hours of the night getting my homework done…sounds a lot like college but I just had to be up at 6 am every day unlike college where I usually didn’t have classes that started earlier than 10 am-thank you Poli Sci Department). But this week I’ve been trying really hard to get up at the same time everyday and go to bed around the same time everyday. Ok, it’s not that hard because I’ve been so exhausted by the time I get home from work that three days this week I have fallen asleep on top of my blankets with my make-up (once I was even wearing my running clothes because I was just about to leave for a run…true story) but I’ve started waking up about 10 minutes before my alarms go off in the mornings which has been absolutely wonderful!

Since I’m 99% sure you don’t read our blog just to hear all about my sleep schedule, as exciting as it is, I have actually been wearing clothes, despite what this mini-blogging-blackout may otherwise suggest. I’ve come to realize that, in this business casual world I’m now navigating, I only wear two types of clothes Monday through Friday: work clothes (usually nerd chic…I promise there will be pictures soon!) and sleep clothes (because once I’m home I’m not leaving unless the house is on fire). But the weekends are a totally different story-I get to wear whatever I want. I can bust out the clothes that, just a month ago, I was bored with and breathe new life into them because it’s been forever since I last wore them. I’m excited to wear my skirts, boots, dresses, t-shirts, tennis shoes, and sweatshirts. It’s awesome! And this, my friends, is my Saturday look from this week!

Can I just say it’s REALLY HARD to get good shots of yourself using self-timer and the railing of your deck? Half the pictures are literally not focused on anything and 2/3 of the rest had me making funning faces or only my face was out of focus. So please excuse the relatively low number of outfit pictures I’m going to put out here until I get used to this new set up. Things did get fun, however, when I put the camera on the steps down from the deck…

Sweater:Romy//Dress:A&E//Boots:Lucky Brand//Headband:Target//Belt:PacSun

Maggie wanted to be the star of my photoshoot (or, you know, she wanted me to throw her toy for her). She’s actually been especially unphotogenic today which is strange because I have thousands of pictures of her and she always looks great. Maybe she’s having an off day? Story time!! Earlier in the day I was snuggling/rolling around on the floor with her and I went to take a picture because it was a cute moment but right when I turned my camera on her she froze and looked like a deer in headlights.

Seeeeeee? Straight from the iPhone you have it. She kept making this face every time I pulled out my phone. And yes, that is me laughing. I also think it’s great that she’s concerned with the amount of cleavage I put out in the world (hence the strategically placed paw). Such a weird (yet considerate) doggie.

Happy long weekend folks! Be safe and have fun out there and I’ll be back with a post on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

