Stripes: A’ca Awesome

This week I’ve been really homesick for the familiarity of my college town-the restaurants, the parks, the people, work, school, and, especially, a’capella. It’s been a while since I’ve talked about just how much singing was my life for the last year, but really guys, it’s taken this absence from music for me to realize just how much of my life was tied up in the a’capella scene. And that’s how this post came to be in my mind. I got an email earlier today asking if there were any videos of me singing on youtube so I poked over to send find some links…a half hour of singing later I spent the email. This a’capella business is quite addicting.

This is my “I’m craaaaaazy for a’capella” face.

So I sat down, and after 20 more minutes of a’capellaing (including pulling out sheet music and a pitch pipe to make sure I was doing it right) I decided I should totally start a list of ways you know you sing a’capella. If you sing a’capella, you’re welcome. If you don’t, you should. You’ll love it, trust me. Then you’ll think my list is freaking hilarious. And you’ll be apart of the best hobby ever. WIN.

This is my “hitting an epic harmony” face. You know you want to be this awesome. A’capella can help you achieve this level of coolness.

You’re an a’capella singer if:

-You’ve choked on food because you forgot you were singing and accidentally took a bite (true story, this happens to me at least once a year…I am skilled at being alive)
-Organizing your sheet music takes hours and the project never gets done because you immediately remember how you wanted to learn the T2 line on “that one song” and the VP on “that other song” and “that song” is SOOOOO FRRRREEEEEAAAAKING AWESOME!!!!
-You carry a pitch pipe and have a pitch pipe app so you can never get caught without the pitch
-You use singers hands while singing in:
….the shower
….the car
….Coldplay concerts (…not that that’s from personal experience or anything…yeah…)
-You match pitch with random hums and pitches then make harmonies and dissonances with it (we’re talking hair dryers [every morning], pop machines, city buses, your car, air conditioners)
-You know your hairdryer hums at an E
-You hear a noise and immediately try to imitate it
-You’ve immediately thought of 10 ways you could somehow add that noise to a song some day
-You’ve heard a song on the radio and tried to figure out how many parts it would take to a’capellaize it
-You conduct music while you walk around, are sitting at a desk, or driving
-You’ve been in a vocal percussion off with a friend. In public.
-You wish you could harmonize with yourself because life would be 10000 times easier and better if you could
-You’ve heard the a’capella version of a song before you hear the “real” version
-You sing the a’capella artistic liberties to the “real” version of the song even when you’re with non-a’capella people
-You warm up to sing in the car
-You are legitimately concerned about your posture while singing in the car (and adjust your seat so you’re sitting super up right if you’re driving for a long distance so you can properly support your sound)
-You love long car rides alone so you can learn every part to a song (including the vocal percussion) and no one cares that you just have to sing it until it sounds perfect (which, for your information, is approximately 7361 times per part)
-You’ve used your pitch pipe in the car to test your range while driving because it feels like your voice is especially low that day
-You’ve wondered what a cop would say if you got pulled over for testing your range while driving
-You have a singing bucket list of songs you want to sing
-Eric Whitacre is on that list
-You’ve had a choirgasm
-You’ve put off homework/studying for finals/making important phone calls/sleeping/eating/going to the bathroom to sing
-You’ve sung, in harmony, on public transportation
-You scope out places with awesome harmonics just in case a singing occasion should arise
-Colds and sore throats are an excuse to try and beat your “personal best” low note
-You secretly LOVE having a man voice while sick…who are we kidding? that’s not a secret.

Can I just say this list was WAY too easy to make. Holy cow. I’m not sure if I’m proud of myself for coming up with so many ideas, or if I feel like a total nerd because every single one of those are true for me. And by nerd I really mean most awesome person ever because clearly that’s what you are if all those things apply to you.

This one had nothing to do with singing…I just got silly (what else is new?). But you can also see my main man Harold in the background! 

What do you guys think? Are you just as a’ca-nerdy as me? Have any suggestions that should be added to this post? Any suggestions for future a’capella posts you’d like to see?

Leave a Reply

