Sequins: So Very, Very Twee

I got dressed in this outfit and was super excited about it it. Then I looked down and went “Holy crap, I kinda just look like a generic blogger”. I should redo my DIY, apparently. Anyway, this is the most twee outfit I’ve worn yet, so you should prepare yourself for the most twee post yet. I won’t let that detract from my love of this outfit.

I was super stoked about my outfit, especially since Monsieur & I had our usual standing Wednesday plans. He was playing at open mic night at a really good mead-ery, and I go to listen to his set and a few other musicians, and then we go home. I know, we’re precious. Have I mentioned yet that I’m with a musician? Because if I haven’t yet…. I’m with a musician. And we drink mead. I told you, there’s really no non-twee way to describe this night. Bare with me.

We went out for (local, organic, alternatively-topped) pizza and I asked him to bring the camera so we could grab a couple outfit shots first. He (very willingly) complied, and we were all set to go when I see him frown as he says

“We’ll have to do this fast”

I nod, pose fabulously (Stripes and I have been training, after all) when…

“Or not at all. Your battery is dead”

ahwhat?

I’ll admit–I usually don’t care when an outfit gets recorded. I know I’m a fan of my clothes 95% of the time, so it’s not a big deal. This was a let down, though, if for no other reason than I WORE HEELS. There’s something about wearing heels (especially ones the blog hasn’t seen before) that makes me feel the need to have a photograph validate my shoe choice. How shallow can I get? Answer: Pretty darn.

I moved on with my life, we enjoyed pizza, and then went to the mead place for the open mic night. He let me know that our good friends, Lace and Mr Lace were coming to join us, which was a perk. They’ve recently moved about forty minutes away, so I miss them. A ton. Have I mentioned that I get to be Lace’s Maid of Honor? It’s exciting.

They show up and the first thing Lace does is gush over my outfit (I’m telling you–it was a good one). I thanked her and rehashed the dying camera incident. She nodded sympathetically and then…

“Let’s just take them on my phone. It’s got a camera in it”

… This, people, is why I love my friends.

Sweater: Target/ Dress: Charlotte Russe/ Tights: American Apparell/ Shoes & Bag: Left Right Left/ Bag:

Those shoes are totally the first grown up purchase I made when I first was hired at this job. They were my fancy shoes. Or, if you’re a much-loved close family member, they’re my “witch shoes”. Regardless, they’re fancy and they have a heel and I love them. Along with the rest of the outfit. It’s fairly twee, yes, but the real icing on the cake is the bag I picked up the other day…

*sigh. The things I would do for good typography. Also, this outfit is definitely bike-able. I rode my darling little (not-so) twee bike to work when I wore this.

So, Lace, thanks again, you darling wonderful beautiful lady, you, for taking my pictures and saving the outfit!

One response to “Sequins: So Very, Very Twee

  1. such a cute dress! love it. i take the majority of my outfit posts with my iphone. it’s so much easier to carry that with me than a large camera, and to be honest it takes pretty good photos. also, my dad stole his fancy camera back from me so i’m kind of cameraless at the moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

