Sequins: Short Shorts

I live in shorts. They’ve always been one of my go-to items, since I’m not into pants and I don’t always want to sit lady-like in my skirts and dresses. I’ve heard from folks of all ranges of sizes who admit they’re self-conscious about wearing shorts. Since we’ve been on the theme of happy, postive self-image, I’ll say one thing I’m happy about are my legs. My legs are so good at doing tons of things, like walking to work and biking all over town. They’ve had a lot to recover from, like arthritis in my toes, three consecutive years of twisted ankles and blown-out knee, and the resulting weakness and necessary physical therapy.

My legs have survived all of that, though, and still let me do some pretty awesome things. My favorite, as mentioned before, being biking my butt all over town. These are legs that deserved to be shown off in all their glory, so when the weather warmed up enough to ditch the tights, better believe that happened.

Shorts: Sojourner/ Shirt: Thrifted Banana Rpublic/ Shoes: Hiltons/ Bag: H&M/ Fox Pin: handmade

We’ve finally been having some beautiful weather in the Northwest, so a jaunt to the ocean-front park was definitely high on my list of things to do. We packed a picnic, if you include water, iced chocolate coffee, raspberries and grapes, David’s guitar, my sketchbooks, and a couple books to read as a picnic!

Slight picnic-related sidenote? That beautiful quilt you see was made by Monsieur’s mom. She makes amazing quilts and he’s the recipient of an abdunant amount. She made this one specially for him, and it’s outer space themed. I love it, which is why it’s our go-to pinic quilt. When I took some photos of him playing with the intention of sending them to his mom, though, and I asked him if it’d be okay for her to see the quilt in the background, he paused.

“Maybe we can just crop that out”

So, Mrs Monsieur’s-Mom, on the off chance that you see this blog–first, please tell me. I’d like to know, and secondly, I hope you’re not mad that we used the quilt for a picnic quilt. We chose it out of love.

So there you have it. A mostly-typical Saturday with my favorite fella. Also, we got a couple really sweet comments about Stripes’ and I’s online friendship. And I never really thought of it the way it was mentioned, but I like that we can be a positive role model for a healthy female friendship. I know a lot of women (myself included) struggle with female friendships. Granted, I just struggle with friendships in general because I’m an extreme introvert, but I get that maintaining female friendships is a legit hard thing to do. I’m glad that it’s easy for Stripes and I, as well as with my other beautiful, wonderful close friends out there–my sister, Plaid, and Lace (the one getting married in September), among other lovely ladies.  With that said, though,

GET YOUR ASS BACK TO THIS SIDE OF THE COUNTRY, STRIPES.

It’s boring without you.

5 responses to “Sequins: Short Shorts

  1. The funniest post of yours I’ve read

  2. Bahahahaha I miss you too! Hanging with Matt has brought up a lot of our shenanigans but we still haven’t even hit the East Coast halfway point yet, sorry. I have tons of stories for you! And tomorrow I’m going to the Natural History Museum which means DINOSAURS!!!! rawr.

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      You know I’m going to need action photos. You two better be taking a bunch of pictures because I miss Matt almost (but not quite) as much as I miss you!!

  3. You’ve got great legs for rocking shorts! Looks like you had a nice weekend, and I love that he suggested you crop out the quilt 😀

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Thank you! It was a good weekend. We’ve finally been hitting a good stride with the weather, so I think it’s finally summer! I’m mostly hoping that his mom just doesn’t ever see the blog 🙂 Or else we’ll have some explainin’ to do with that quilt business…

Leave a Reply

