Stripes: 1 Bag, 13 Days…Can it Be Done?!

The answer is yes, yes it can. Way back when we started the 30 for 30 we had joked that it was a way to gear up for my impending travels because I knew I was going on some epic trips this summer and was only planning to bring my backpack and a purse which would require a level of packing discipline that I have never before exhibited. I knew this challenge would be worthwhile and really fun to blog about, so I embraced it with open arms and started making plans to travel more efficiently than I’d ever traveled before. Luckily, the weather really helped me out. I knew to pack for really freaking warm which meant lots of thin clothing, minimal coat-age, and relatively few accessories.

The only “tools” I used to pack was a Space Bag (yes, like on the infomercials), some ziplock baggies, my trusty backpack, and the purse I’d been dreaming of. And with all this I was able to bring all THIS as carry on.

My final clothing count:
Tank Tops: 9 colored, 6 white (for layering)
T-Shirts: 6 (two for sleeping)
Dresses: 5
Pants:0!! I’m still very much so rebelling against pants.
Shorts: 2 pairs
PJ Shorts: 2 pairs
Leggings: 1 (just in case it gets cold)
Sweaters: 1
Coats: One blazer, One raincoat (Florida is known to have some wild weather…better to be safe than sorry), One Sweatshirt
Shoes: Three Pairs- Toms, flip flops and the sandals I am wearing on the plane
Swimsuits: 3 tops, 2 bottoms (If anyone knows of a great place to buy bottoms that actually fit girls with a little junk in their truck, please tell me in the comments section!)

Final Accessory Count:
Jewelry: One Necklace, One Ring, One Pair of Earrings, One Bracelet
Belts: 2-one thick one thin
Sunnies: One Pair

Extras in Backpack:

One quart sized bag of liquid stuff (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, ect)
A wash cloth- cause it sucks to get stuck without one
A Brush & Hair ties
Hair clips and pins
Empty Brita WaterBottle
Full Sized Hairdryer…you heard me right!

What’s in that Purse?
Make-Up & Brushes- the one thing I totally ran out of space for in my back pack
Stripes-Friendly Granola Bars
My Book-Portrait of a Lady
My Journal & Pen-cause I often have a lot to say (crazy, huh?)
My Lapop
Cords for laptop, iPhone, and earbuds
Gum
Wallet & Cellphone

What you’ve all been waiting for, The Packing Process:

I started with this preliminary clothing pull…”what’s missing from this picture?” you may be asking. The answer was underwear, tank tops, and shorts. All very important when traveling somewhere warm and in all seriousness, I almost forgot to pack underwear! That would have been a disaster and a half!

The prelim packing pull from my closet. 

The next step was to actually pull everything out, pull out a few things I didn’t actually need to bring (pretty much just a couple t-shirts), and make sure I had the essentials-yep this is when I added the underwear to my packing pile.

Then I counted and took a bunch of pictures of everything I packed just for the blog. This took a little longer than I’d wanted but now I know I’m traveling with 15 tank tops, one bar of soap, and no pants.

Then I moved all the clothes, except underwear, swimsuits, and accessories, into the space bag. It looked like this before the air was pushed out:

And let me tell ya, rolling the bag was not nearly as glamourous as the infomercial leads you to believe. I created my own process and system to get the air out (much like rolling a sleeping bag while trying to not pop a plastic bag) and was able to get it in my backpack without any trouble.

Then I had all of this stuff to stuff in the bag. No problem, though, there was a ton of space and this backpack has a lot of space in the side pockets.

The only thing I ran out of space for was my make up but there was plenty of space in my purse. So I threw everything in the purse, was surprised to still be able to zip it up, and called my packing adventure done!

Dress:H&M//Blazer:Charlotte Russe//Purse:Sorial via TJ Maxx//Backpack:Kelty//Sandals:Mi Shoes//Sunnies:Ray Ban

Sorry, it’s a little on the blurry side, we were a little rushed trying to get out the door, but it gets the point across-I was able to fit a crap ton of stuff in a backpack and purse while still looking fabulous!

So there you have my most epic packing adventure! Holy cow, I was a little worried going into it, but I know I have enough clothing for the whole trip, I have plenty of options (the constant fear of us over-packing types), and I can comfortably carry all my stuff on my own. If you have any questions about how I did it, or any suggestions of how to make a little extra space for the return trip (admittedly, there isn’t much space for my mouse ears or any clothing I might pick up in NY) I would LOVE to hear about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

