Sequins: Casual Milkshakes

Milkshakes are very high up on the List of Foods My Stomach Doesn’t Like. However, milkshakes are even higher up on the List of Foods Capable of Fixing Grumpy Moods, so I’ll make an exception every other week or so (I know, I know, it’s a problem). Monday wasn’t a particularly bad day, if you don’t count the atrocious doctor visit (which I don’t count, since I’d like to just pretend it didn’t happen. Be grateful, because if I wasn’tpretending, this post would be full of stories about how incredibly unprofessional and inappropriate he was. But I’m pretending), but the second I swallowed the last bite of the stir fry Monsieur cooked for dinner, I knew.

“Babe, I’m going to need a milkshake tonight”

And thus, the story of how Monsieur and I ended up putting clothes back on after settling in for a Monday (opposed to the pajamas we had been wearing. Jeez, guys) to venture out for milkshakes.

There are several places around town for milkshakes, and one happens to be in walking distance. It isn’t our favorite, but it is in…walking distance. So that place usually wins out.

It’s mocha salted caramel flavored. Pretty fantastic, I’d say. Not as chocolatey as I usually prefer, but very sweet. I alternated drinking it with sipping on Monsieur’s, which was a classic chocolate.

And all was fixed.

Also, for all the doubters out there about my ability to throw on jeans and a sweatshirt, I give you proof:

Sweatshirt: Fred Meyer, Jeans: Gift, Shoes: Toms, Scarf: Vintage

I’m so hipster even my shirt has glasses. True story, Stripes asked if I added them on. I didn’t. I’m actually constantly debating taking them off him. I’m pretty sure Fredrickstein has perfect vision.

3 responses to “Sequins: Casual Milkshakes

  1. Hahaha. No fair, you even manage to make a casually-thrown-on-sweatshirt-and-jeans-combo look cute. 😉 I think that’s the perfect sweatshirt for you, too.
    So this famed milkshake wasn’t Starbucks. Still sounds fabulous, though. I, too, have the same problem with milkshakes. I, too, had a burgery-type joint within walking distance in my college town. They had my favorite milkshakes in the area: pineapple. Perfect for cheering me up.
    Bummer about the doc visit that didn’t happen, though. 😦 If it was anything at all like my very real visit to a military hospital when I was a teenager where the doc asked me the same flippin’ question five times, appeared to be under the influence, and made my ear bleed by shoving a VERY SHARP INSTRUMENT into the canal with the intention of “just cleaning out some earwax, ma’am” (subsequently, I’ve had tinnitis–ringing– in that ear on and off ever since then), and seemed way too interested about my sexual experience, then you have the sincerest of my sympathies.

  2. Cute! Love the sweater – and I’m so jealous of your layers… it’s been dreadfully hot here!

    Milkshakes upset my stomach too, but sometimes you just gotta cave. After an awkward Dr. visit I definitely would have treated myself to one too! Sorry to hear you had an unprofessional visit 😦

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Thanks 🙂 I’m willing to trade weather with you for a couple days or so. Yesterday felt like the end of October, not the end of June. The Northwest is always a little slow when it comes to seasonal changes.

Leave a Reply

