Stripes: A New Kind of Stripes

When I saw this dress at H&M this week I knew I had to have it even before trying it on. My mom looked at me like I was crazy, and I have to admit for a second I questioned my own judgement; pink zebra print, with zebras, on a dress. But, fortunately, it was crazy enough to work. And boy am I excited to, as my idol Tim Gunn would say, make it work.

 

This was my attempt at “Stripes in the Serengeti”. I totally nailed it…yeah, or totally not.

I would also like to introduce you to the newest addition to my collection of leather goods; say hello to my sea foam purse. It is officially known as my first big girl purchase (I made the second yesterday…pictures of that should be here sometime next week depending on the weather) and I got it for my summer travels. I needed a bag that was purse sized that zipped close at the top, was close to my body, could hold my MacBook along with some other purse things, and, of course, was stylish.

I’ve actually been looking for a bag that met these requirements for a couple months now but nothing was quite perfect enough (“Hi, I’m Stripes, and I’m a perfectionist to a fault). So imagine my surprise when I walked into our local TJ Maxx to return a bra and I happened to see this beauty that had just been placed on the floor 5 minutes earlier. It fit every requirement. It was leather (a huge plus, once you’ve had a leather bag it’s really hard to go back…it just feels different. Although it should be noted that as a former vegetarian of sorts for 8+ years I do still have a moral battle over leather goods). It fits my laptop. The color that accents so much of my existing summer wardrobe. It was marked down $300 from the original price (though, still about $50 more than I had originally budgeted for a bag but it should last forever which makes the investment worth while). This bag was meant to be mine if you ask me.

Dress:H&M (recent)//Shoes:Aldo//Sunglasses:Steve Madden via TJ Maxx//Bag:Sorial via TJ Maxx//Bracelets:Fred Meyers

And there you have it; my two most favorite purchases ushering me into this new chapter in high style.

4 responses to “Stripes: A New Kind of Stripes

  1. Ooooh, I need that dress! I think you should do all your outfit pics in silly poses like the first one. You are so cute!

    • Awww thanks! I tried at our photoshoot yesterday to think of a good silly pose but my clothes were significantly less inspiring. I’ll try to think of some new funny at the next one though!

  2. Pingback: Sequins: Twinsies! | MooseInChartreuse

  3. Pingback: Stripes: 1 Bag, 13 Days…Can it Be Done?! | MooseInChartreuse

Leave a Reply

