Stripes: A Manicure

A manicure you may be asking, what’s so great about a manicure that a whole post was needed to commemorate it? Well this wasn’t just any old manicure, and while it wasn’t my first time in the nail salon, it was my first time getting a shellac manicure. And let me tell ya, this stuff does not disappoint.

Shellac is a type of nail covering (such a weird way to phrase that…) that is really hard, does not chip, and makes nail color last forever all without the damage to your nails that comes with fake nails. In other words, this was promised to be a nail miracle treatment. After a friend tried this stuff out a few months ago, I was really curious if this stuff was as awesome as she kept saying it was so after taking my last undergrad exam Sequins told me I should treat myself and I headed off to the nail salon to try my first fancy treatment.

The place I went applied the shellac (a really hard clear polish that is hardened under a UV light) under the color so I could change the color of my nails as I wished; the only thing is that you have to use acetone free nail polish remover which really is NBD because that’s what I happened to have under my counter when the time came to take off the polish (acetone removes the treatment and nail polish remover with acetone can damage the finish).

I still had the original polish on in these pictures and it lasted about a week which is hands down a record for me and the only reason I took it off was that the color had rubbed off the tips of my nails and it looked a little messy so now I am wearing it as a clear coat and my nails look amazing. But no chips and no peeling (which, for whatever reason, always happens when I wear polish), just a little bit of color missing from the tips that get abused at work (hello hand washing 30 minutes of dishes). The only place where I really experienced the shellac layer chipping was where my knife slipped while I was mincing garlic and I took a chunk of polish/shellac off with it. And, in all honesty, it was probably a good thing I had the extra layer otherwise the knife would have cut into my nail and that hurts SO BAD. Maybe I psychically knew this treatment would serve a rather practical purpose!

Shirt:Old Navy (recent)//Skirt&Belt:Macys (recent)//Purse:Lucky Brand//Shoes: Aldo

If I could afford to keep on top of it, I would totally get my nails shellac’d every two weeks like the nail tech recommended but until then I will for sure fall back on this essentially damage-free treatment (the UV rays can cause skin cancer and I know some people are really against acetone) for special occasions (aka-times I wanna feel hella fancy). I really enjoyed this treatment and if you’re looking for something fun to do with little upkeep and relatively low cost, I would definitely recommend making an appointment to get your shellac on.

As a side note, I was not in any way paid to endorse this product; I don’t even know the name of the company who made the product I used.

2 responses to “Stripes: A Manicure

  1. Oh wow, I love your skirt!

    Naomi x

Leave a Reply

