Sequins: How I Entertain Myself

Instead of giving you another excuse about no outfits or a real post, I figured instead, I’d write a real post! You know, the kind that just doesn’t happen to have any outfit photos in it. I scoured the internets to find a ton of fun, interesting links to share with you*

If you can get past how incredibly phallic-shaped this infographic is, it’s totally interesting. And a good way to build up your to-read list (not that my towering stack needs any more assistance!)

Dead Words is my absolute favorite for design, typography, and learning new words. Those are like three of my favorite things, guys, so it’s pretty cool.


#16. Østersøen (Ödland, Sankta Lucia) from Lorenzo Papace

This videos is a ton of fun to watch. Also, I’m a fan of the music. Mostly, though, I love watching the video. I can’t remember which blogger first shared it, here you go.

Birth To Thrive, a blog by Thrive By Five has a really interesting article on the future possibility of social impact bonds paying for higher quality pre-k education. It was pretty interesting, if that’s your thing.

BuzzFeed’s 13 Simple Steps to Get You Through a Rough Day is pretty effective. And trust me, this past week has been full of rough days to get through!

GQ had a great interview with Joss Whedon that reaffirmed my belief that Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of the most amazing TV shows ever made. Also, if you haven’t already seen The Avengers, do so now. Please.

*Okay, okay, I scrolled through my Facebook wall and I’m just sharing everything I linked to on Facebook in the past month.

2 responses to “Sequins: How I Entertain Myself

  1. I’m actually glad that you’re posting anything. I have to admit this blog has become much like my Facebook, where I check it daily for a new post. Pathetic, I know. 😉 But it’s fun, manageable tidbits that are easy to swallow…

    Um, speaking of which, I totally didn’t notice that the first graph was so phallic until you pointed it out…and then it was made worse by the fact that it’s named the Longlist and that you mentioned a towering stack of books. There may or may not have been a spit take of coffee involved.

    Have you ever heard of the book “The Visual Miscellaneum” by David McCandless? If not, you must check it out. Like right now:
    http://www.amazon.com/The-Visual-Miscellaneum-Colorful-Consequential/dp/0061748366/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338917701&sr=8-1
    (I’m not sure if that link has a way to look inside the book, but the colorful graphs inside are really the best part.) I got the book for my father-in-law a few Christmases ago and I have to admit I always steal glances (read: steal away to a separate room for about a half-hour or more) at the book because it’s so awesome. It’s full of things much like the first graph you have here. My personal favorite graph looks like a color wheel, and it lists what each color represents in different countries (ex: red can equal love, anger, death, passion, etc.).

    And I’ve become a bit addicted to Dead Words, too. So thank you for sharing. 🙂

    ~Violet~

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      I’m glad you liked the post–I figured you of all readers would find this one pointless, since you’re on my facebook. It felt like a cop-out, but with the week (month? year?) I’ve had, I figured I deserved it.

Leave a Reply

