Stripes: In Search of the Perfect Dress

With just 6 days until graduation, I am in serious need of a new dress. For years I’ve been dreaming of the most perfect dress but, despite my best efforts, I still have yet to purchase anything. I know I want something knee length, pretty, colorful, with a decent amount of structure and straps. These are the best dresses I’ve found thus far:

Anthropologie

Anthropologie

Mod Cloth

This style of dress, however, is apparently impossible to find for less than $100. Anyone know anywhere where I might find a dress like this quick for $100 or less? You’re help in finding the perfect grad dress is much appreciated!

8 responses to “Stripes: In Search of the Perfect Dress

  1. gypsyinjasper

    Time to hit the fabric store and pull out your sewing machine!! (Says the girl with the goal to make a wearable dress by the end of the year.)

    Or time to hit Value Village/a trusty thrift shop in your area.

    Good luck!

    • Haha thanks, between the three finals I have before Saturday and the fact that I don’t know how to sew I think making a dress is about as close to impossible this week as is me finding one! I am planning to scour the city on Thursday after leaving no small shop or thrift store unturned so hopefully I find one then!

  2. This is pretty big for a fashion blogger to find the perfect dress for graduation! Congrats, by the way. How unique do you want it to be? JCPenney has some super-cute dresses right about now, and I think their American Living line is very much your style. Check this one out:
    http://www.jcpenney.com/dotcom/american-living-scoop-neck-floral-sundress/prod.jump?ppId=1dc9d0a&catId=cat100210008&deptId=dept20000013&selectedLotId=2151257&selectedSKUId=21512570034&navState=navState-:catId-cat100210008:subcatId-:subcatZone-false:N-100210008:Ns-:Nao-24:ps-24:pn-2:Ntt-:Nf-:action-pagination
    The other cool thing is that $50 is on the expensive-end of JCP dresses; most of them are about $30-$40.
    If you want something unique and inexpensive, then I absolutely agree that there’s nothing like a good thrift store. πŸ™‚ Good luck!

  3. Also, lots of stores are going to be going with the trends, too, and will have maxi dresses galore, so you’ll probably have a lot more luck in the thrift store.

  4. Hahaha! Cuteness can be had for all. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

