Stripes: Five Years

Today is a pretty big day for me; it’s my last day of classes as an undergrad. This also marks the end of five years of work, points, papers, tests, new friends, broken friendships, adventures, and personal growth (just to name a few things) that made up my college experience. Admittedly, today is a little surreal. The weather has been terrible for the last two weeks so it doesn’t feel like the end of a school year much less the end of my academic career (I’ve changed over to saying paralegal school will be my “professional training” because I realized I need to let this stage of my life actually end). Nonetheless, this five year journey is coming to an end and everyday I come to realize just how much I appreciate everything I’ve done and all the learning and growing I’ve done.

To celebrate this change I thought it would be fun to make a little retrospective photo post, because I’m sure you all are just dying to see how awkward of a freshman I was.

This was the year I started figuring out who I really was, though I definitely left realizing I had no idea who I was or what direction I wanted my life to take…and yes that was a mustache. It was definitely a strange year, though I think that’s the point of freshman year- to break down all the fake crap that once held you together so you can figure out who you are and what you stand for. Most of our adventures that year centered around campus and I still miss the “family dinners” we used to have in the dining hall with my group of 10 or so friends.

This was the year I started figuring out what I wanted from life…and it was no longer to have a job, kids, a house with a picket fence, and the perfect husband. No, I realized I wanted adventure and extroversion. This was the year I started working at the dining hall which forever changed who I am and helped me to meet my best college friends. I am so grateful I found that job and the people I met there.

My third year flew by. It was one of the happiest years I had up here despite some serious heart break. From the ashes the Phoenix can rise, right? I had so much fun and took many little adventures all over the place. We also started an EPIC series of more than a dozen theme parties…

This one was Australians vs Manatees: A UN peace keeping Mission. There was an ongoing and progressively more combative dispute over water rights that could br traced back centuries between the manatees and Aussie which could only be solved via an intense game night. Miss Sequins was a manatee and I was an Aussie and let me tell ya, those dumb sea cows kicked our tan little Aussie butts. I’m still not over it.

And then there was zombie night. We got really into the make-up at this one! All I can say is BRRRRRRRRRRAAAAAINNNNSSSS. Unfortunately these are the parties I documented best so use your imagination for the others (including the following themes: bacon, Lady GaGa, and Moustacherade).

Year four was the year I the most dedicated to school. I had quit my job at the dining hall (one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, that place is my cult) and I finally had time to dedicate to my studies. It was awesome feeling like I was good at school for the first time in a long time. I also started really evaluating where I wanted to be in the next 5-10 years and grew so much into myself. I also apparently wore sunglasses a lot.

And then there was this little trip to Canada that sparked this blog. No big deal or anything. This is where Sequins and I debuted our hipster faces, had an unforgettable night on the town, and had our first official blogger photoshoot.

And, finally, this year. A year of transition…most of which has been recorded on this blog. I’m excited but scared for the ever impending changes I face today. I know it’s all going to work out, just like the last 5 years have, and I take solace in that because I would never trade these last years for anything.

Here’s to the next five years.

Leave a Reply

