Stripes: A Little Thing Called A’capella

As I’ve mentioned a few times before, there’s this little thing I’ve been doing for a while called a’capella. A’capella, or the production of music using just human voices and bodies, has been a pretty big hobby of mine for the last couple of years. I think I’ve mentioned this before, if so please forgive my repetition and if not ignore what I just said, but a’capella has pretty much been my number one hobby for the last year. I spend all of my free time doing a’capella-y things including: singing, finding new music, and listening to other groups (when I’m not watching British TV, of course). And here is the first image ever on our blog of me singing curtesey of Miss Sequins!

Ok, so I’m not actually singing here…I’m blowing a note in my pitch pipe…but close enough (and in the rest of the pictures my face was absolutely ridiculous or I moved too much and made them blurry).

Wanna learn more about a’capella. One: Feel free to comment and ask me any questions. Two: Watch the following videos. And three: Sing your heart out anywhere anytime (unless I am trying to sleep and you’re within earshot, in that case I will give you my look of death and hate and nobody wants that).

This one has been passed all around the a’capella community since the day it was put out. It’s super mainstream and really exemplifies what the human voice can do. I adore their rich sound and am working on trying to adapt my voice to have more of this same fullness and depth. They are super cool and I’m really excited to see what they put out in the next couple years.

Barbershop is one traditional type of a’capella but they have so moved beyond the straw hats in recent years. I know I’ve posted this one before but I am absolutely in love with this song (probably because it largely marked my entrance into the a’capella world as I know it today). Enjoy!

This is An Aladdin medley by Vocal Spectrum (another barbershop group)…it’s super cool how they fit the whole movie into 7 minutes and they have some pretty awesome vocals that, dare I say, span the spectrum.

I’ve been itching to sing this one since I found a copy of the music floating around the interwebs a year ago. OMG dream song.

And a good peek into the silly side of the a’capella movement. Oh yes this is happening. (Also, got to see these guys sing live in February! They are really awesome guys!)

And of course some Eric Whitacre…this man’s music has the uncanny ability to put me into the most intense trancelike state

These are just some of my favorites. What kinds of music do you like? Are you a fan of a’capella or hate it? (Secret time: I actually hated modern a’capella the first time I heard it. I was dating the first of my a’capella men and I remember thinking this music is weird and I actually forced myself to listen to it so we could have more to talk about…clearly this relationship had a firm foundation. And back to the main point, you may not like it yet but you’ve just gotta find which kind of a’capella floats your boat. Turns out I just wasn’t really a fan of Rockapella but loved everything a’capella ever.) If you have any cool a’capella videos please post them! I’d love to see some new stuff!

Leave a Reply

