Sequins: Walking A Fine Line

The one thing I really, really took away from the 30 for 30 is that I have boring shoes. It’s sad, but it’s true. I’ve been noticing it more and more, so I’ve been trying to fix it a little bit. Also, though? I’m not someone who wears heels. Like, ever. It just doesn’t work. I walk to work, I bike everywhere, and I don’t have the patience required to lug around a spare pair of shoes for those activities.

So, when a different fashion blogger mentioned that she had to wear wedges instead of heels so she could bike to work, it frankly blew my mind.

“You can bike in wedges?”

I’ll admit, I was a skeptic. It sounded too good to be true. But, if you think about it–it makes a certain level of sense. I mean, it’s a flat bottomed shoe, so it should be fine. Should.

Is it fine yet? I’ll admit it–I love these shoes with the same force that they scare the crap out of me! They’re gorgeous, they’re fun, they match so much in my wardrobe. Also, they’re scary as hell!I don’t know how it happened, but I’ve just lost my ability to stand and walk in heels. I loose all dignity walking down stairs–I look exactly like a baby giraffe. A drunk baby giraffe.

But I put them on in the morning and twirled for Monsieur.

“You’re going to want a ride to work, aren’t you?”

I nodded, my head bent in shame.

“But I can ride my bike home!”

He looked at me, skepticism filling his eyes, and I know we both flashed to an identical image of me sitting on my overturned bike, crying pitifully as I call him for a rescue at the top of a hill (have I mentioned my bike ride home is entirely full of hills?).

“Kay. But I’ll have the car ready, just in case you need a ride home.”

He’s a keeper, that one.

Success was mine! Turns out that riding a bike in wedges is way, way way easier than walking in them. I made it home with slightly sore feet, but mostly sore from walking. I didn’t slip on the peddles or anything. Watch out, wardrobe, you’re about to get a whole lot taller…

If I don’t break my neck first.

Dress:
Shoes:
Tights: gift
Vest: thrifted

6 responses to “Sequins: Walking A Fine Line

  1. Wait. Wait. You show us these adorable shoes and then leave us in suspense as to where it’s from? I need to know! πŸ™‚
    (By the way, I love them on you. I think it’s a welcome enhancement to your wardrobe. Also, as I was telling Stripes, I’m not much of a heel person, either. But they’re fun to put on every now and then. For small increments of time. πŸ˜‰ )

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Haha I totally spaced on what brand they are. Same with the dress. I was hoping no one would notice… I’ll update it when I get home, though!

  2. Those shoes are absolutely wonderful! I really love them. And your outfit is simply adorable!

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Oh thank you so much! I’m pretty in love with that vest–I was ambivalent on the dress until I paired it with that vest. And those shoes are definitely one of my most favorite pairs in the closet right now!

  3. Hello to both Sequins and Stripes! Thanks for the comment on my blog today. I’m glad I’m not the only cat-hater. I was beginning to think I had offended the entire Internet. Haha.
    P.S. Good work riding your bike in those absolutely delicious shoes. I’ve never attempted it myself, but I assume it’s a bit of a challenge at first.

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Haha yeah no it’s a little weird how like 99% of the blogging population are cat people. I mean, I have pets (two little rattas), but I don’t plaster them on the blog constantly!

      Thanks, it was definitely a learning experience to bike in the heels, but it was easier than I expected. Surprisingly (or not?) a LOT easier than walking in them!

Leave a Reply

