Sequins: A Bird, A Plane

Jacket (see below), Dress & Shoes: Thrifted/ Sweater: my sister’s/ Earrings: Mi Shoes/ Necklace: Gift, Charming Charlies/ Socks: Mod Sock

This is what I wear once I’ve been strongly influenced by The Avengers. Confession time? Total comic-turned-movie nerd, right here. I go weak in the knees for Batman movies, and when I sat in the imax theater for The Dark Knight, I was one of the three people who gasped and made inappropriate noises when the trailer for Watchmen first previewed. In fact, Watchmen definitely counts as my favorite comic story of all times. Yes, I know, it’s done as a depressed satire of other comics (so lots of people don’t think it counts as a real comic), but that’s kind of what I love about it. After Watchmen, though, Batman and Hulk are tied as my favorite comic heroes.As for The Avengers? Perfect level of campy glory! It was cheesey, but in an intentional way, and it borderlined being over the top, but never pushed the envelope of dork-tastic-ness too far.

PS is it just me, or does everyone have this problem? I feel like whenever I get a new piece of clothing that I’m absolutely in love with (like the polka dot vintage jacket up above), the first time I wear it is a total flop. It happens with every article of clothing!Such a weirdo thing to do. Maybe it’s just because I get so excited I want to make the perfect outfit for my new piece and over think it beyond belief and end up looking weird.

One response to “Sequins: A Bird, A Plane

  1. I’m a total geek too… it’s cool. Hulk is my new favorite character after seeing The Avengers. Watchmen was great too. Loving the jacket! What you were saying probably happens to me and I don’t realize it lol.

Leave a Reply

