Sequins: Definitely Not An Arm Party

Oh. My. Goodness. I have no idea why, but getting dressed on May 1st has to be one of the top post painful things I think I’ve ever done. Nothing fit right, I couldn’t decide on what I wanted to wear, and I kept gravitating towards things that were in my 30 for 30 pile. Probably because I’m just so damn used to them. It was tough, guys. Like, almost-late-for-work-so-I-biked-really-fast kind of tough. Plus I didn’t have my morning fashion consultant available to help me decide what to wear. He had to be at work really early this morning (like 6:00). UGH! Could I manage to complain anymore? Okay, I’ll stop.

And…..Done complaining! I actually really like the outfit I ended up with, and I have no clue how I got there. I have a really hard time styling these red tights for non-winter/autumn looks. Really, I have a hard time styling anything to be non-winter/autumn. Mostly just I have a hard time styling for spring. Anyone else there with me on this? But I like how it ended up! And I had a total blast putting together my crazy pin collection. It’s not an arm party…. it’s more like a shoulder* party…

Shirt: Target/ Belt Shoes & Necklace: Thrifted/ Skirt: H&M/ Tights: Gift (Express)

*Okay, guys, so confession–as I was writing the title of this post, I was thinking about how it’s not an arm party, it’s more like a shoulder party. But then I was thinking, well, it’s not really my shoulder, it’s like my shoulder cavity–like my upper chest. Then I was all, “boob party”? No. Wrong. Do not make “Boob Party” your post title. So I settled on something else. But really, what other kind of party would you call this? Ah well.

Also, I like proof that Stripes and I are actual friends who spend actual time together besides blogging. I think it’s a good reminder 😉 We had a lunch date with Monsieur and our other friend, P, because a bunch of local restaurants were doing a fundraiser for this great cause. Perfect way to indulge in a meal, if you ask me!

Oh PS, in case you forgot, I actually have this whole outfit sketched and mostly painted. I just didn’t have time to scan it. But I thought about it, and yes. Yes I am going to make a concerted effort to keeping that going. Just, not, you know, today. With this post. For now. Kay bye!

5 responses to “Sequins: Definitely Not An Arm Party

  1. Ooh, I love your arm candy! (That will be my official term for it.) Most especially the typewriter, but I’m biased. 😉 And I don’t know why, but I finally saw the inspiration for the blog title in your necklace.

    Anyhow, I hate those mornings where nothing seems to fit/look right. They happen rarely for me now that I’ve streamlined my wardrobe, but when they DO happen, oh boy, does it make me cranky!

    I’m like you, where it’s hard for me to style during different seasons, especially when it’s not winter. But I see it as an opportunity to stretch myself fashion-wise. For spring, I’ve embraced flowers and added pastels (yellow & pink) to my wardrobe, and I have to say I think I’m starting to like styling for spring. I’d have to say that fall is the most difficult season for me to style for. Got any pointers?

    Anyhow, I think you’ve got a great basis for spring & summer styles, especially because bright colors are in right now (not that you NEED to be “in” or anything, but sometimes it helps). As far as your red tights, I would look at them in a similar way to the red pants you like so much. A lot of the styling you’d use to go with your pants would go well with your tights, and since you’d probably put shorts or a skirt with your tights, that would definitely put a more springy or summery touch to them.

    But I am new to this whole fashion game, so my suggestions should of course be taken with a grain of salt. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see more of your clothing sketches!

    ~Violet~

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      I like brown colors, so autumn always feels easy. I also think my bright colors in autumn and winter work because not a whole lot of other people do it, so I don’t feel like I’m clashing with sidewalk strangers. I know it’s probably really weird to admit that I think about matching to complete strangers when I get dressed, but it’s like the whole world is a painting, and I am a mere brushstroke trying to enhance it. When it’s spring I feel like anything I do gets lost. I guess. Also I feel like my florals clash with the actual flowers. It’s a strange process.

      I totally know I shouldn’t be so damn intimidated by red tights, but I just am! It’s funny because I originally wanted red pants. So I started looking, and I didn’t find any. I thought to myself, “Well, you don’t wear pants in general, so why are you so wedded to the idea of red ones? Maybe red tights is what you need” so I was excited when my step mom gifted me red tights. But I have this thing about red–it was one of my middle school’s colors, along with black and white, so I have this engrained brainwashing to wear only red black and white together. Somehow my red pants overcome that compulsive need, probably because my red pants really are what I want. They complete me in a way that will remain unmatched by any other article of clothing so the red tights just end up feeling like a sad little ugly step sister that no one really wanted.

      Man I am admitting way too many silly things about my relationship with my clothes. I’ll stop now.

  2. Bahah “Boob Party” as a post title definitely would have won me over.
    After much morning struggle, I do love your outfit! Those shoes are a favorite and all the small added accessories and details make this outfit even better!

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Thanks so much for your sweet words! I think I always struggle with the little accessory extras (I tend to wear none, think about wearing some, panic and then wear EVERYTHING), so it’s good to know that I was right when I felt like I nailed it that morning (or at least, as close to nailing it as I can get).

      I would’ve done Boob Party as my title, but I didn’t have a chance to check in with my blogging partner, Stripes, first and I didn’t want to lose her to a heart attack when she checked the blog. Because I’m considerate like that 😉

  3. No need to apologize for your silly things. Silly things are great, embrace them! Also, this IS a fashion blog of sorts, so talking about your relationship with your clothes is only tres apropos, non? 😉

    I love love LOVE your quote: “it’s like the whole world is a painting, and I am a mere brushstroke trying to enhance it”. We’ll make a writer of you yet, Missy! 😀 I’ve never thought of fashion in that way, but it’s such a cool way to look at the way your fashion fits into the world. New blog title, anyone? Merebrushstroke.com has a nice ring to it. Anyhow, I think that phrase is the perfect way to describe your fashion profile. You’re artistic and your fashion is a wonderful extension of that. Thank you for running with it–that’s what makes you so wonderfully you!

Leave a Reply

