Guest Post: My Personal Barbie Doll

Okay so as Stripes and I recoup from the craziness that was our April 30 for 30 Challenge, I figured we’d kick May off with a fun guest post! Introducing, my personal barbie doll err I mean, my sister!

My sister is technically two years older than me, but the family joke is to call her my little sister. Namely because she’s so little! Growing up, she was always more of a tomboy and less concerned with the girly things like makeup and hair styles. She’s also the patient and thought out one, so she was the one capable of growing her hair out. While I was running around, painting my nails every color of the rainbow and chopping my hair off, she took it easy.

This made her the perfect Barbie doll! Her hair has almost always been ridiculously long, so I love that I get to play with long hair whenever I want, without actually having to grow my hair out. She was also my mannequin during my make up years, although we’ve definitely reversed roles these past few years. Lastly, she’s a ton of fun to dress up. She has a teeny tiny figure so she’ll fit just about anything I can find. Accessories are her nemesis, so I’m often called in to help her out.

In short, my friendship with Stripes is really easy because everything Stripes mentions to me, fashion wise, is something I’ve dealt with my darling sister approximately three or four years ago. It’s really funny, actually. They’re both such naturally, organically beauitufl creatures that I think the prospect of adding to their looks just becomes overwhelming. Or something. Without further ado, though, I bring you some of my favorite picks from my sister’s stylings

I think she looks rather stunning with the teal dress. She found this dress when we were shopping for dresses to wear at our dad’s wedding a couple years ago. The shoes she found as a candidate for her wedding reception in August (another one will win, though, I think. We had a lot of fun being girl with the winged eyeliner and bright red lipstick. I love having a Barbie doll to do victory roll hairstyles on!

One of her classic looks to work. She picked out the fabric for the skirt and I made it for her. I think I was the one who talked her into wearing the brown tights with the brown boots, and she pairs it with the brown top for a great monochromatic effect.

This is a pretty classic winter look. The girl can wear neutrals like no one I’ve ever met! She’s also a chronically cold person, and thus the faux fur muff (which was a gift from our stepmom) went over pretty well. We all teased her about how Russian she looks in this getup.

Well I hope you enjoy! She’s definitely my favorite sister ever (and I’m pretty sure it’s not just because she’s my only sister….). We’re both really proud of how we survived the awkward painful teenage years (I still have a scar on my cheek from one of our altercations) and have developed a strong, mature relationship. She’s someone I know will always be there for me, and she’s proved her loyalty in ways no one should ever have to be asked. I love her, I respect her, and I will always “make her hair fancy, please”, as she so often asks.

2 responses to “Guest Post: My Personal Barbie Doll

  1. Oh my goodness, I love her in the teal dress, too! That’s a beautiful color on her. You can definitely see the famiy resemblance, especially in some of the ways she (and you) pose/smile. 🙂 And also, both of you are beautiful. 🙂 Great job on that skirt. One of these days I’ll get around to figuring out how to make one. And I love those gray heels she’s wearing. Do you happen to know where she bought them or what brand they are? I’ve been wanting gray heels for a very long time.

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Haha she’s such a cutie, isn’t she? And thanks! That skirt is one of my favorite pieces; I used it to teach myself how to make a liner, so it was quite a process. If I had to guess, I’d say DSW, but I’ll get back to you on the shoes.

Leave a Reply

