Sequins 30 for 30: And I’m Finished!

Okay because I really want to be done with this, I tacked on the sketched versions of the two outfits I forgot to take pictures of. Come May, I can start showing off my non-30 for 30 clothes!

So this has been fun–it’s been a bit harder than anticipated (mostly at the end, when I couldn’t quite remember what I had already worn), but mostly just a ton of fun. Full of fun and learning. Some things I’ve learned include: I love my red polka dot dress. Love. Love. Love. I can rock a mint green midi skirt much better than originally anticipated. How to tie a blogger knot on my belt. How boring most of my shoe collection is. How much I’ve enjoyed having watercolor illustrations of all my clothing.

A month of (mostly) no shopping has also been hard. Less fun. But it, too, has taught me quite a bit. Namely, it’s taught me that I want a denim jacket. Oh, wait, it’s the fashion blogger world who taught me that. Still, it was learned during the Great 30 for 30 Era.

I’ve also learned about these amazing black flats that I have every intention of buying May 1st, because the black flats I’ve included in my 30 for 30 are officially on their last breath. I think the Challenge was their Swan Song, because they’re goners. And, after getting five years of almost daily wear out of a $15 pair of flats, I’ll call that a pretty good run!

Mostly, though, I’ve learned that 30 articles of clothing is actually a healthy (albeit lean) amount of clothing to own. It’s maybe a fifth of my whole wardrobe, so I’m being a complete hypocrite, but honestly? I remixed and restyled most of my outfits without ever feeling like I was really struggling. Especially if you take into consideration the fact that I was not repeating combinations at all, which is something that most people would do in their everyday lives.

I definitely miss my clothes, though, so don’t expect me to slim down my closet anytime soon!

3 responses to “Sequins 30 for 30: And I’m Finished!

  1. Congratulations on completing an amazing feat! I’m really tempted to do the same, perhaps in June or July when I can get the best mix of clothes (long/short-sleeve, dresses/skirts, pants…some of those just don’t see the light of day when it’s not summer). I have to say that many of my favorite outfits of yours during the 30 for 30 challenge have involved some part of your red polka dot dress, so I love it too! Interesting how in the end the belt became a wardrobe staple of its own, separate from the dress. I have a belt that has become a staple as well…I find myself throwing that particular belt–much to the chagrin of my other belts, who have probably formed some sort of union during my neglect of them–on when I’m looking for a pop of color on a dress or tunic.

    Have you thought of maybe doing a flipped version of the challenge during May? Like, perhaps wearing everything BUT the articles of clothing you wore during the 30 for 30? I think that would be interesting and relatively easy to do since, as you mentioned, the 30 for 30 clothes are only one-fifth of your wardrobe. Either way, thanks for providing me with a daily dose of fashion fun! πŸ˜€

    ~Violet~

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      I’m glad you liked it! It’s embarrassing to admit, but I think it might be impossible for me to wear everything I own aside from my 30 for 30 picks…. Unless I was layering ten articles in one go!

      It would be a challenging to leave out my 30 picks during May. I think as much as I miss my other clothes, I’ve formed some intense bonds with these articles. I’m definitely looking forward to wearing a lot of the same pieces, only remixed with the rest of my wardrobe.

  2. Congrats on making it to the end! You are much stronger than I would be. I think I would have broken down day 10. Can’t wait to see posts for non 30 for 30 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

