Sequins 30 for 30 Tiptoeing On Through

When everybody else cancels on you at literally the last minute (valid reasons or not), sometimes it’s okay to let them and just take your best friend in the whole world on an adventure to find tulips. We didn’t use a map, or google, or any planning (and believe you and me–I’m definitely a planner). We winged it and followed traffic, which brought us to Tulip Town.

Definitely not the biggest tulip farm or show in the county, but it was one of the campiest. Anywhere I find a faux-Statue of Liberty, I find campy.

Mexican food afterwards, followed by a bottle of wine (or two) with some friends while we catch up on Game of Thrones (anyone else as obsessed? I’ve read the books and I keep getting so shocked when they deviate! I’ll gasp and be all “Well it was implied…..!!”

All in all, good day. Hopefully friends who are sick (nudge nudge Stripes) will actually calm their lives down and devote themselves to healing, instead of daily pushing themselves. And hopefully friends with “mini emergencies” (nudge nudge Plaid) will always remember that treating me to Dairy Queen fries with flamethrower since in a ten minute picnic excursion will actually excuse you from bailing.

And hopefully next week we all get to go! Again! To bigger fields!

Oh also, if you look carefully at the next photo, you’ll see my black dress has undergone a bit of a transformation. It’s old version was already borderlinen too short, so when it shrunk in the wash I made an executive decision that replacing it with one very similar is a-okay. Welcome to the fold, new and appropriately-lengthed dress!

Dress; Thrifted/ Shoes: Soda/ Keffiyeh: Palestine/ Earrings: Sojourner

Take care, my friends! Oh and enjoy this little throwback from last year’s trip, when Stripes was a healthy-goose. Please, feel free to laugh at the horrible hair day I was enjoying (I was growing out a mohawk. It was an awkward phase)

Favorite picture from last year

4 responses to “Sequins 30 for 30 Tiptoeing On Through

  1. These pictures are awesome!! What a beautiful place! Love that last one you took last year. I also really like your hair short even if it was growing out.

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Thanks! I think the yellow tulip photo from last year is on my top ten of favorite pictures I’ve taken. I’ll have to show you what the actual mohawk looked like–much better than that flop-tastic look 🙂

  2. These photos are amazing! I wish we had tulips like that in Arizona…

    • C Marica (Sequins)

      Thanks so much! I guess you guys should just visit the Northwest one of these times, then. It’s actually funny, because the Skagit Tulip Festival is like this really big deal, but the tulips were originally (and still kind of are) used as a buffer crop in between the actual mainstay crops that get planted. They’re absolutely gorgeous, though, so this whole tourist market has grown out of it.

Leave a Reply

