Sequins 30 for 30: A Colorful Jungle

This, my friends, is a “me outfit”. The colors, the patterns, the textures–it just fits better.

Also, though, isn’t that fence fabulous? It’s in my neighborhood, but I had to be super sneaky having Monsieur take my picture so I wouldn’t look like a total creeper posing on someone else’s fence. Fortunately their yard is (wonderfully) overgrown enough that their windows are fairly blocked.

I don’t know about you guys, but ever since I’ve started taking blog pictures consistently, I’ve become mildly obsessed with finding good backgrounds. Stripes and I were laughing about this over coffee, since she acknowledged she is way less concerned about it than I am. There’s something about a good background, though, that turns a photo from a simple recording of an outfit to a memory of that outfit. I don’t think it helps that some of my favorite fashion bloggers have just stunning backgrounds!

Also, tangent, but I was reading this on Erin’s blog about comments, and I agree with everything she says about comments in number five. Just sayin’.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I use Gimp for all my photo editing/design work. It’s got a bit of a learning curve, but the magic words are “Free Version of Photoshop” and you have me sold! I will say it helps that I used to use Photoshop all the time (I was editor of the newspaper and yearbook in high school, and I had a part time graphics editor job in college), so most of the Gimp learning curve (for me) consists of learning how to do the things I used to do, not learning the entire system.

Seriously, though, go learn Gimp. It’s free. And it’s awesome.

Also awesome? The amount of animals I have on my outfit. Safari-themed print, fat bear-raccoon necklace, and cheetahs on my sweater. Yeah, I know. Pretty cool.

Shirt, Sweater, Necklace & Skirt: Thrifted/ Shoes: Soda/ Tights: Old Navy

Leave a Reply

