Sequins 30 for 30: I Believe In Fun

… Way more than I believe in pretty! Monsieur and I were looking at someone-or-another’s blogger photo and I pointed out how pretty she looked, and put together the photo was. He nodded his agreement and I laughed because she took such a classic fashion blogger picture, while I? I take these pictures
Ah, well. Monsieur said he likes mine more anyway–“Your photos are way more fun”. He should know–he’s the one who takes them after all.

I have no idea if I’ve mentioned that before. Have I? Monsieur takes the majority of the photos (particularly the ones where there isn’t a corresponding background that Stripes has!). I’m a lucky girl, I know!

I had a “higher up” at work approach me at a meeting today. She’s super friendly and I like her a lot. Anyway she walked over and started to say something but paused, and looked at the rest of my outfit, and what came out was,
“I always notice your… tights…”

I think I distracted her with everything else going on. She asked me how many pairs of tights I own, and I guestimated around 20 (honestly more like 12 – 15, as I think back **Updated: So I just finished laundry and I counted. I have 27 pairs of tights. I almost feel ashamed..). This took her by surprise, but I balanced it out–most people don’t realize it, but I only have 4 pairs of pants.Β  A pair of jeans, brown cords, red denim, and mint green pants. So, you know, my tights balance out my skirt-heavy wardrobe. She nodded, because that makes a lot more sense.

I suppose.

Yes, these the new tights mentioned in my Not So Guilty Confession post. They’re soft like butter and really pretty. So I’m pleased with them. Enough to make me act like a ballerina, I guess.

Oh and in case you’re curious about the crazy forest I’m having my pictures taken in, it’s actually my front yard. My house in on a huge slope and I think the landlords are terrified of touching this crazy mess of ivy and blackberries because they’re very probably the only thing holding the hill (and house) up. Eep!

And as for the rest of the outfit…

Shirt & Dress: Thrifted/ Tights: Nouvella/ Shoes: Soda/ Necklace: Gift, Charming Charlie

Apparently it, too, is ballerina-worthy! It was a super cute outfit, and it is one I know I never ever ever would have tried without the 30 for 30 Challenge pushing me. So yay! Personal (style) growth!

Alright and time for a normal photo, just so I can prove that I am capable of taking them (every now and then)

4 responses to “Sequins 30 for 30: I Believe In Fun

  1. The ballerina photo is my favorite… and you have better tights than I have pants so you’re the smart one here. And the fun one of course.

    • Haha thanks–to be fair, my collection of tights was much, much smaller when I was a college student like you.

      And my step mom has contributed greatly to it. I think every gift-giving holiday for the past three years she’s contributed like two or three pairs of tights to my collection.

  2. I can’t even begin to tell you just how in love I am with your idea of putting the matching belt from your red polka dot dress over the shirt! I love love love it. So much so that I want to run out and buy a polka dot dress with matching belt just so I can do the same thing.

    Also? Fun is awesome. πŸ™‚

    Also also…(am I the only one that thinks that word looks weird after writing it a lot?) be proud of your tights. I’ve come to think of them as your own unique fashion statement and when I see an outfit where you’re not wearing tights, I think it looks a bit off. You without tights is like Nicki Minaj with a normal hair color, Lady Gaga dressed in a power suit, Doris Day in leather pants…well, you get the idea. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like my tights so much. I think whenever I start developing a safe habit, I get a little restless. I don’t think the idea of being pegged into one fashion type sits well with me, even if I do really love my tights. It’s good to know I’m turning into a (very very miniature) little fashion icon, though! πŸ™‚ To be compared with the likes of Lady Gaga and Doris Day…

Leave a Reply

