Stripes: What’s In My Make Up Bag? Day 13

For the all of you who have been DYING (I’m sure) to know what goes on inside my make up bag, today is your lucky day. I was inspired by Miss Indie’s post about what’s in her bag and thought, “gee I have one of those too, maybe someone would like to see whats in it!” So if that’s you, welcome to my make-up bag:

Let’s start with the tools. The black brush came from a free gift from Estee Lauder (as did a ton of my stuff) and the bamboo ones are from EcoTools (yes, Alicia Silverstone pimps these brushes) but I don’t really use them much any more (aside from the concealer brush and eyebrow brush which I still use all the time). This is mainly because I recently got my Sophora brush set and I really like them. I just use a really cheap pair of nail scissors from like 10 years ago to trim my eyebrows and a pair over tweezers I’ve had for probably 8 years (which kick butt! I have no idea what brand they are though…the lettering wore off years ago).

I just started using this Almay liquid foundation about a month ago and I love it (even if it does not zap zips like it promised). I’ve been using MAC studio for a couple years now (my first gift to myself when I was promoted at work for the first time) and although I know people who use it as their everyday foundation without a liquid foundation underneath, it doesn’t stick to my face for more than a couple hours after I put it on when I use it alone. I got this Estee Lauder under eye concealer as a free gift with purchase a year ago and this bitty tube is still going strong! I use it everyday under my eyes and on random little red spots on my face and it works super well.

As far as blush goes, I recently revamped my routine and I really love the results. The Maybelline blush is super sparkly and kind of old so I don’t really use it all that often…glitter on your cheeks in the daytime is not as cool as it seems like it should be. I also got called Edward Cullen one day by one of my friends because I was glittering in the sun. Yeah. That was incentive enough to grow up and use big girl (read: not sparkly) face stuff. I now use this Estee Lauder blush and this MAC highlighting compact to define my cheekbones. I love the highlighter because you can use just one of the colors if you want and you can use it as an eyeshadow, too.

As far as eye shadows go, I have a few that I like to pull from. I also feel like I should start this section with the following statement: it took me YEARS to embrace eyeshadow. I felt like I could never apply it right and that it looked gaudy and that it was cheap and that it took too much time to apply. Yes, it is the most time consuming part of my make-up regime. And yes, it can look terrible when you’re first learning how to apply it or you are a guidette. But it is so much fun once you start to just go with it and play around with the colors, shapes, and effects. So I have my little Almay 3 color “blue eyes” palette. This was the start of my eyeshadow collection and helped me believe that I could actually wear eyeshadow without looking like someone from Jersey Shore or MiMi from the Drew Carey Show. That being said, I have this Estee Lauder blue eyeshadow and have worn it exactly never since I got it a year ago. The lady at the counter made me look fabulous and talked me into buying it but once I got home and realized I had no idea how to actually apply eyeshadow in the first place and that I had nothing to blend it with.

And now, this is my baby. It’s my first Urban Decay Palette and it has literally changed my relationship with make-up. I LOVE all the options and playing around with different combos. I also use this primer to make the pigment stick to my eyes all day (and night…I am really bad about taking my eye make up off at night even though I wash my face. I am one hot mess in the mornings, let me tell ya). I realized as I was uploading that I didn’t include the eye shadow primer because it fell out in the box I keep all my bathroom stuff in. So yeah I just use the Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer (it comes in a purple tube).

To finish off my eyes I use CoverGirl Lash Blast mascara. I’ve been a HUGE fan of this stuff for the last couple years and, despite the higher end approach I’m taking with the other parts of my make up bag, I think I am going to stick with this stuff for a while. I also have this trial size tube of Estee Lauder’s mascara (yet another free sample) that I like to use when I’m going out because it makes my lashes look epically big but I think it’s a little too much for most daytime adventures. Then I like to line just my bottom waterlines with CoverGirl Point Plus liner crayon. I also love the little smudger on the end! (And I’m also really awful at lining my upper lids which may or may not be 90% of the reason why I don’t do them).

For my lips, I actually almost never remember to put on lipgloss…like ever. But I do have these few options. I LOVE the Sophora multicolor one but it’s almost all out 😦 . I like the Clinique gloss and it’s my usual gloss of choice and I almost never wear the Estee Lauder stuff (free sample…) because it leaves way too much glitter on my lips at the end of the day (which looks really weird when you get home form work).

And finally my silly lipsticks. All of these are from various theme parties I’ve attended and I seriously never wear them. Ever. But they still live in my make-up collection.

If you’re still reading, I applaud you. This was for sure my longest post ever. But that’s it. That’s what’s in my make-up bag. And now on to the usual, the outfit:

I am really in love with my hair today!

Dress: A&E

Shirt: Target

Shoes: Toms (Ironically, I was actually wearing them in all the pictures but they never made it in the frame!)

Anyone love MAC and Urban Decay as much as I do? Anyone know any tips about how to apply eyeliner on your top lid? Seriously leave me a comment if you do, I really wanna know the secret! Also, if you have any questions about my make up routine or anything please feel free to comment and ask!

5 responses to “Stripes: What’s In My Make Up Bag? Day 13

  1. I want the naked palette so much. Definitely going on my bday list.

    • It’s the best! I would also ask for a regular size tube of the Urban Decay Primer. You need it for the pigment to stick but it comes with a tiny one that only last a couple weeks and it’s no fun having toys you cna’t actually play with!

  2. Pingback: Stripes: Day 14 | MooseInChartreuse

  3. Oh my goodness I have to echo Sammie’s comment that I want that naked palette. It looks fabulous! I’m glad you came around to using eyeshadow. I have to say that it’s my favorite makeup item to play with because it comes in so many colors. I’m lucky to have been blessed with tanned skin so the colors are much more subdued on me and serve to compliment my brown eyes rather than having to worry about looking like Mimi (no matter how much blue eyeshadow I try to slather on during 80s-themed parties, the most it ever turns out to be is just the faintest hint of a blue hue).

    What a fun post! I may have to do the same one day.

    Anyhow, I’ve recently started to LOVE eyeliner, and I’m one of those weird people who both prefer and know how to apply liquid eyeliner more than an eyeliner pencil. Pencils to me are too sharp and stabby and ridiculously complicated to draw a line on your eye with. So perhaps try liquid eyeliner and see if it works better for you, too? Also, I do the opposite of you and only line my top lashes and leave my bottom lines unlined. The way that I line my lids is to close one eye and hold down the outer corner of my eye taut with my finger. Then I use the (liquid–again, this doesn’t work so well with me when I use a pencil) to glide on one continuous line, starting from the inner corner of the eye and sweeping out to the outside. If you want to give it a cute doe-like Audrey Hepburn twist, then turn up the line oh-so-slightly at the end in a mini-cat-eye. Otherwise, just end at the outer corner as usual. (I never figured out how to do what most people and fashion magz instruct you to do, with the whole draw-a-dotted-line-then-go-back-and-connect-the-lines thing. Way too complicated.) Keep the liner angled down at an angle rather than coming straight at your eyelid. For example, if this is your eyelid: _) you should angle the liner like this: _) / not this: _) _

    **I realize those are horrible illustrations. Sorry.

    Imagine that you’re lining your eyelashes, not your lid. That’s how close you should be to the bottom of your eyelid. It’ll look like you’re not lining your eyes at all, but when you open your eyes and compare the lined eye to the unlined one, you’ll definitely be able to tell the difference.

    Hope that helps!

    ~Violet~

    • oh my gosh thank you! You definitely win the comment of the month award (…because I can totally make up awards at my own free will!). I put myself on a spending past as far as anything clothing, accessories, nail polish, and make up goes for the 30 for 30 (admittedly aside from a new pair of asics running shoes that I needed to buy while I still had a coupon to save $30 on them was still valid but I can’t even use those for another couple of weeks because of my mono so I’m not feeling too bad about it. That and athletic wear was approved to be worn during the 30 for 30 by us at the beginning as long as we changed into an actual outfit at some point in the day, I seriously digress…running shoes are the opposite of eyeliner) But yes, I’ve been wanting to try a liquid or gel liner for a month or so in hopes that I would have better luck applying it. I’ll be sure to update everyone on my eyeliner success (or epic fails) as I go!

Leave a Reply

