Stripes: Lab Day (Day 12)

I am wearing a long sleeve shirt, jeans, and boots. Why you ask? Chem Lab, that’s why. It’s been a little hard on my lab days to do the 30 for 30 because we have a strict dress code (Nothing shorter than pants, sleeves must be worn, nothing dangly, no v necks) so I’ve been wearing my most boring (gosh I hope so anyways) outfits on these days. I also have to pull my hair back (aka destroy any work I put into it earlier). So it’s kind of a day of “why bother”. And I roll with it.

Yeah...forgot to wear shoes again...

Let’s be real. I am in college. I can get away with looking a little dumpy once or twice a week and I won’t have this privilege much longer. The days are coming where people are actually going to expect me to wear nice shoes, button down shirts, and pencil skirts (what? The real world in my mind is a lot more like Mad Men and a lot less like The Office). So, as I see it, why not enjoy wearing simple outfits, jeans, and crazy hair while I still can. I know I will still have the weekends and after work, but seriously, when will I be able to wear holey jeans and a 7 year old tshirt at 11 am on a Tuesday morning when I am in “The Real World”?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m totally looking forward to all the fabulous clothes I’ll get to wear when I have the salary to afford them (and be expected to wear them). I dream of well cut dresses, heels that don’t hurt my feet, and sweaters made of actual animal fiber not cotton. But, if there’s one thing I’ve learned from this challenge (and it has definitely been accentuated by lab days) is that it’s pretty sweet being able to wear what I want, when I want, how I want.

Outfit:

Shirt & Headband: Target

Jeans: Gap

Boots: Rocket Dog

Anyone else love their old t-shirts? Or really simple outfits? Or headbands? I know tons of people love headbands (Thank you Blair Waldorf for bringing them back!).

2 responses to “Stripes: Lab Day (Day 12)

  1. You dress way cuter than I did in college! I would wear Converse shoes, baggy pants, and a sweatshirt every day. It’s all about being comfortable in my opinion 🙂

    I have that headband! It tends to pinch the sides of my head – do I have a big head or does it do this to you as well?! Please lie and tell me it does it to you.

    Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

