Sequins 30 for 30: A Not-That-Guilty Confession

So, here’s the thing. I have a confession. Kind of. One that I don’t feel even remotely guilty about. It involves the rule 30 Days of No Shopping.

If the implied ending of the rule is “for clothes“, then I’m in the clear. No confessions necessary.

If, as Stripes maintains, the rule is “No shopping for any type of clothing item or accessory at all“, then, well, apparently I broke the rules.

I bought a purse. A beautiful blue purse rich with pigment. I bought a purse because my one purse is yellow. Like, mustard yellow. And god knows I love that purse, but it is not a neutral.

So yeah. I bought a purse. A beautiful blue purse. Oh and a fun pair of rainbow plaid socks. And a pair of cherry blossom floral tights. What can I say? The heart wants what it wants!

I think the 30 for 30 Challenge is a great exercise, and I’m totally down with it. I think it’s a personal exercise, though, and I think everyone is different–and that this means they need to be challenged in different ways. For me, not shopping for clothes is a challenge in and of itself. And it’s a challenge I’m succeeding at! Woohoo! Stripes chose to incorporate make up into that challenge, because it is more suited to who she is as a person. Since I’m someone who wears makeup maybe once a week, not buying makeup is not a challenge. Side note: I also used the 30 for 30 to motivate myself to do a few sewing projects I’d been putting off, like hemming the red polka dot dress and fixing the buttons on this skirt to pull in the waist. If you look closely, though, you’ll see that I didn’t pull in the buttons enough. I’ll probably have to take in the seams a little before wearing it next.

So I think we can all agree do stick with our own personal definitions of that rule.

Now if only Stripes would stop with her judge-y face…

Let’s instead focus on how this outfit is super cute. And super different from what I’m comfortable wearing. I’m not sure what it is about it, but nothing about this outfit felt within my comfort zone. I think it was the socks.

Sweater: Target/ Shirt: a shop in Canada, closed now/ Purse: Melie Biano/ Skirt & Belt: Thrifted/ Shoes: Soda/ Necklace: Gift from Monsieur/ Socks: Mod Sock/ Flower Hair Clip: Michael's

Wearing my hair up was a fun exercise, though! My hair is almost long enough to not require ten million bobby pins! Oh and please, please please note the necklace–my darling darling Monsieur knows me well, and this was my birthday present from him! I love how my statement necklaces have been trending more and more towards morbid. Morbid but awesome, that is!

2 responses to “Sequins 30 for 30: A Not-That-Guilty Confession

  1. Those socks are the cutest – love the pattern!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

Leave a Reply

