Sequins 30 for 30 Ew Gross (Not)Top

Stripes and I were joking over coffee the other day about articles of clothing we have hidden in our closets that the other has yet to see (which, for the record, is fairly impressive–we’ve known each other for years, and spend a lot of time together. Especially since the birth of the blog, we’ve seen each other at least twice a week). I told her about an orange top with feathers I have, and how I have a hard time figuring out a place for it in my wardrobe (thus throwing it on the 30-for-30 list), and she made the grossest face.

“Ew gross, with feathers? I’m sorry but that’s a bit much, even for you…”

We worked out our misunderstanding, though. Feather print, and a rust-colored orange. Not the neon orange with craft-supplies feathers glued on that she had envisioned (honestly, you’d think the lady didn’t trust my fashion sensibilities…). The next day we each wore (unprompted) something the other hadn’t seen, so of course I had to show her my oh-so-gross top. Which she promptly conceeded was not gross. Although I think we all know, it’s still definitely not a her top (even though I would totally lend it to her for a day if she let me take pictures). But it doesn’t have to be!

Shirt: Nordstroms, Tank: Sojourner, Pants: H&M (thrifted), Shoes: Modcloth, Necklace: f21

I was really nervous about the orange and red together, despite my devil-may-care attitude about color matching. I’m pleased, though, and this outfit was perfect for one of those days where I just wanted to be comfortable and relaxed. It was definitely a donut kind of day, complete with a stop at Monsieur’s and I’s favorite donut shop in town (he’s mildly obsessed with anything pastry, and shares this love (and the calories) with me).

2 responses to “Sequins 30 for 30 Ew Gross (Not)Top

  1. pants are great mainly because I love red and that donut looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

