Stripes: Hunger Games

Confession: Sequins and I are both HUGE nerds (ok, this is less of a confession and more of me stating the obvious). Now that you are armed with that piece of information, you can better imagine how excited we were when the opportunity arose for us to go to the midnight showing of the first Hunger Games movie.

So, late last night, we made our way to the movie theater with Plaid and Monsieur for the show of the year (aside from Titanic 3D…I’M SO EXCITED TO SEE THAT!). Since Sequins got Monsieur and herself matching t-shirts* I decided to make some matching t’s for plaid and myself so we wouldn’t be left out of the nerdy festivities. It was my first time freehanding lettering so I was pretty proud of the end result (though, admittedly, I got a little too into it and made my left hip fall asleep not one but three times in the quest for the most ideal angle to approach the fabric).

To make my (and Plaid’s) shirt, I just bought a cheap t from Michaels and painted it using Tulip brand fabric paint and some throw away brushes from another project I did last year (just incase the paint ruined my brushes-I do this every time I try a new paint just to be safe). To do the glitter section, I used Tulip brand glitter and glitter glue because it is supposed to withstand the washing machine…we’ll see. I’m not too worried about it, I just had a ton of fun making the shirts and getting a chance to channel some of my repressed crafting urges.

As far as the movie goes, I thought it was done in a very interesting manner. I definitely prefer the book but I thought the movie was artfully done although it leaves out some important details that would not have taken all that much time to incorporate. Aside from that, I really liked the shifts in perspective and how human the movie felt. The costuming and make up designs were awesome! So much better than how I had imagined it from the book. It would be really fun to have a Capitol themed party and dress up like we came from the Capitol because their outfits and styles were so cool!

All in all it was a great night (and my very first mid-night premiere!) and I am so glad I got to share it with so many great friends.

*Sequins here! Just a quick note on my shirt: Ilene over at Much Love Ily shared her Hunger Games shirt, found from an adorable etsy shop and I quickly snagged up two more for Monsieur and I– this one for me, and this one for Monsieur. The whole movie was super exciting, and mad props go out to Plaid, who introduced us to the whole book series. She turned me on to the books right almost exactly two years ago, before the third book came out. We sucked them down and talked about them endlessly, until finally Monsieur read the series a couple months after I finished them. We brought Stripes on board when we started planning the midnight premiere, and she was totally gung-ho. It probably didn’t help that I threatened her repeatedly that I would spoil the endings if she didn’t finish the book before the movie. She rocked, though, and no spoilers were necessary! (Although Pinterest spoiled a MAJOR devastating plot twist for her). Bye!!

One response to “Stripes: Hunger Games

  1. eeek!!!! looks like you guys had so much fun!!! love the tees. thanks for the mention, friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

