Sequins: I LoveHate My Hair


My hair and I have a very love-hate relationship. A very love-hate relationship, and not in the way you might think. My hair is pretty chill–as you’ve seen, it’ll go pretty curly if I don’t touch it, but it’s really easy to straighten. It’s thick enough that I can always french braid it (even at this length), and it’s healthy enough to withstand the multiple hair dyes I tend to layer on top of it. I’m pretty laid back in what I’m willing to do with it, and while I might branch out with my stylings every now and then, for the most part I stick a bobby pin in my hair and ignore it, and it ignores me right back. It works out alright.


So what’s the root of my intense hair relationship? Honestly, I get bored. A lot. My hair is pretty much always more boring than I’d prefer, and my lack of inhibitions with my hair means I’ll do almost anything to it. Which means I go to the salon (sometimes–sometime I just hack away at it myself, which terrifies everyone around me) and tell the stylist that I’m bored, I don’t care how short they go, just make it interesting.  And then I love my hair for the next month or so.

Right now, I’m bored with my hair. Stripes, among other people, has shared her opinion that my current hairstyle is the most flattering for my face. I’m inclined to agree. Monsieur loves me hair right now–he’s a sucker for the curls it gets going, and is the ultimate fan of how crazy it gets in the morning. The two brides-to-be in my life whom I’m serving as Maid of Honour both love me hair and are hoping I don’t do anything drastic to it before their weddings in late summer/early fall.


I’m inclined to agree with all the peeps in my life rooting for my current do–I also know myself, though, and I know that I’m already bored with it. I’m ready for bright pink or a mohawk or for it to at least be long enough to rock french braided pigtails to work. Pretty much anything aside from what I have going on right now. I will admit, though, I do love short hair. I’m at the long end of what I consider for short hair (really, it’s in the medium category), and I’m itching to go shorter.

Reasons why I want to cut my hair by two-four inches:

  • I can stick my head under a kitchen sink spout when it’s super hot outside without my hair touching the sink itself
  • I don’t have to do anything to it. I don’t even have to comb it.
  • Savings in hair product
  • Bad hair days are far and few between, and can usually be solved by running my hands under hot water and then through my hair.
  • It’s easy to sleep on & doesn’t get caught in anything
  • I feel like myself with short hair.

Reasons to convince me to continue to grow it out (at least until the weddings):

  • French braided pigtails
  • Hats look better with longer hair
  • Short hair will always add weight to your face (it’s an unpleasant, but unavoidable truth. I just try to not worry about it, but honestly, sometimes I’m more vain than I’d like to admit).
  • ……??
  • I feel prettier with long hair.

Well that list was definitely balanced towards short. I’m working on keeping my hair one length for a while, but that’s honestly way harder than actively growing it out. I do enjoy feeling like myself, though, even if it’s at the expense of feeling pretty (which is a totally weird contrast that I’m sure my future therapist will have a ton of fun sorting out).

Sweater & Belt: Thrifted, Shirt: Target, Skirt: my sister, Necklace: Lisa Leonard & Fireworks, Tights: bella, Shoes: Clarks

4 responses to “Sequins: I LoveHate My Hair

  1. I have the exact same relationship with my beard, which is a man’s equivalent to a woman’s hair; I can never decide whether to shave or keep my beard, it would be nicely trimmed. None of my friends can reach a consensus either, which means I have to make the decision myself. Suffice to say, I lovehate my beard.

    • I think my constant cycle of growing it out then cutting means I get the best of every world. Kinda. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who understands the lovehate process!

  2. I totally feel ya! Although, I am a total scardey-cat so I’ve never gone shorter than my shoulders – but I’ve decided I absolutely want to learn new ways to do my hair so that I get the satisfaction of it being different without the commitment!

    • For sure! I know when I had long hair I lived with it in a constant state of messy bun. I was super lazy about it, but I think short hair forced me to be more creative!

Leave a Reply

