Stripes: Sometimes You’re Just a Hipster

If there is one thing that has changed about me since coming to college it is my hipster quotient. Note the skinny jeans, old converse, and scarf. Sure, there are the “me” (ok, old me) touches- the earrings, belt, and braided hair but all in all I look like a hipster. The days that my hipster status is most apparent are the ones, like today, where I am not trying to be a hipster but I end up leaving the house looking like I should sell my soul to this little, local thrift shop that’s a bit obscure and I’m sure you’ve never heard [not ironically (although in the land of hipsters we are vering into the land of double negatives and utter confusion, so my apologies if I’ve lost ya!) but I would be $10 that Sequins knows exactly which store I’m talking about…].

Sure, at first I tried to fight it (this is my fighting the hipster picture!) but it soon became a force so prevalent and easy to wear that I slowly transitioned into the realm of the hipster. I realized this process was complete when one day last year, while wearing my ear muff headphones (after breaking a pair of earbuds, without fail, every 4-6 months for the last 3 years I realized it was a much better investment if I could make them last even 1.5 times as long…I’ve had them for a year now and they still work as well as when I took them out of the package, I digress) and my thick frame glasses that I kind of look like a hipster. Then I said it, “But, I mean really, it would be ironic if *I* were a hipster”. And thats when reality set in that I am, indeed, one of them.

Scarf: Found (old), Shirt: Gap (old), Jeans: Gap Outlet (recent), Belt: American Eagle (old), Shoes: Converse (old, but I’m sure they still make gray), Earrings: Target (recent).

I blame my Liberal Arts University, Portland, my peers, the rain, and most importantly myself for being a hipster. I mean, it is at least a little ironic, right?

Anyone else out there have that moment when you realize you are a hipster? Anyone else like hipster glasses? Or have awesome headphones?!

-Stripes

2 responses to “Stripes: Sometimes You’re Just a Hipster

  1. You look beautiful! I don’t think you should fight it! If you are comfortable and feel good in your clothing then it is perfect! Plus I think it looks cute! =)

Leave a Reply

