Sequins: Happy Valentine’s Day! (And Some Wearable Art)

Happy Valentine’s Day! As planned, I’m wearing the red dress from this post on the holiday, but here’s a recap of outfit from the romantic getaway weekend I had with my lovely Monsieur. I hope your day is full of love and happiness! And, for the record, I totally don’t think that love is limited to a romantic relationship–I may have spent Saturday loving on my Monsieur, but better believe I spent Sunday celebrating Valentine’s Day with my family, in our yearly tradition of Decadent Sunday. There were waffles, ice cream, board games, and lots and lots of love!

One of my favorite art styles was the modern, hip crazy art from the 1920s. Deco art is super cool beyond just paintings, and it’s my favorite style for a lot of things–jewelry, architecture, and even clothing. Which is why I was super excited to find this dress. I mean, really, does it scream deco or what?

It was a particularly appropriate dress for Saturday’s Valentine Extravaganza with Monsieur, and not just because his favorite color is purple. What better dress to wear to an Art Deco-inspired hotel, and then the EMP? Plus, you know, it doesn’t hurt that it is super comfortable and super soft. And super, super colorful, which I think you should know by now is my most absolute favorite thing about clothing (even if I don’t wear neon clothes everyday, just know that I want to. I want to so bad.)

Sweater, Dress & Vest: Thrift Shop, Tights: Macy’s, Shoes: Old, Jewelry: Family

Also, side rant: I found this dress at my favorite used clothing store, but it was one of the new ones they’ve been sneaking into the racks. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about them mixing in new clothing (mostly because they’re being super sneaky about it), but I’m pretty sure I don’t like it. This dress was still a win, though, because it was 50% off.

I hope everyone is having a love-filled, fabulous Valentine’s Day! ❤

An ode of things I love about those closest to me: I love you all so much in all your unique, quirky ways.

G:
Weekly Doctor Who nights with you keep me sane. I’m glad I got to know you, and I’m very grateful that you are a much more patient person than I can ever hope to be.

A:There’s a sense of comfort in knowing that no matter how bad I fall down, you’re always there with understanding, compassion, and a bowl of ice cream. I can’t wait to stand next to you this September and watch you marry your best friend.

J: I’m proud of you, how you’ve grown, and how you’ve pushed me. Celebrating ten years together is an friendshipversary I’m looking forward!

Stripes: The craziest things come flying out of your mouth and make me laugh so hard. You’re a fabulous person to plan anything with, and you make me feel brave enough to step outside my comfort zone.

Plaid: You’ve opened my world to the magic that is Dairy Queen’s flamethrower sauce, which would be enough to cement you into my book of forever friends. We’ve planned parties together, we’ve celebrated holidays together–I love that you are always up for my whims, and when I lack for ideas, you always have ten.

Mommy: I don’t know how I could have gotten this far in life if I didn’t know you would always be there the second I required it. Your ability to love completely and without reserve is your best trait, and I’m so proud of you.

Sister: You’ve always been my protector, and I love you for keeping me safe. I also love that you didn’t kill me in my sleep for stealing your clothes when we were teenagers. You sparked my obsession with fashion, for better or worse. I love the friendship we’ve grown into, and I love planning your wedding with you!

Monsieur: You love me at my worst, so you deserve me at my best.

Leave a Reply

