Sequins: My Modern Alice

I’m sure I’m not alone in this supposition, but if I had to make a guess, I’d say that Alice (from Alice in Wonderland, of course) is the most remixed character in literary history. The story itself is constantly being reimagined, and with every reimagining, Alice herself is remade. I think it helps that the story itself is so bizarre and unexpected, and no one really knows what it’s about. Although Cracked takes a shot at the “right” interpretation here.

Dress: Charlotte Russe; Sweater, Vest, Ring & Shoes: Thrifted; Tights: Gift

This dress always makes me feel like Alice in Wonderland, no matter how I style it. Usually I opt for the vest pictured with purple or marroon tights, but I’ve been jonesing for a fun way to wear my new polk-a-dot sweater so I branched out a bit.

Seriously, though, this sweater? The internet made me buy it! I completely blame the internet (specifically this pin) for me blossoming obsession with polk-a-dots. I may have gone a little overboard with them in this outfit (have you seen how ridiculous those shoes are?) but I totally and un-apologetically loved this outfit.

I did not, however, love the crazy wild wind that messed my already-being-difficult hair. I was whining to Stripes about my hair–I’m a fan of the length but I’m seriously having the hardest time styling it. If I do nothing to it, it looks like limp noodles. If I spend hours blow-drying it straight, it last about five minutes before turning into greasy-looking limp noodles. And if I use my snazzy blow-drier attachment to help the natural waves turn into curls, it looks like a monster trying to eat my face (see above photo for reference). And then, of course, once satiated, it turns into limp noodles. In short, I’m failing in my stylistic efforts to prevent noodle hair. Any tips are much appreciated.

*Ahem. Back to my main point. This is my funky, modern version of Alice! I’m pretty sure she would have rocked this look perfectly. After all, what’s the point of getting dressed if you can’t dress up? And really, lest you think my costume is lacking in the props department, be assured….

…I even had my White Rabbit.

Leave a Reply

