Sequins: The Back of the Closet

I couldn’t decide what to wear this morning (not actually the most typical quandary I find myself in, considering I usually plan my outfit as I fall asleep the night before), so I dug deep into the back of my closet and pulled this baby out.

Sweater & Dress: H&M, Scarf: Vintage, Boots: ..I forgot…, Tights: Target, Bag: Modcloth.com
This dress always looks so frumpy and ugly on the hanger, as if it would be too long or awkward. I always forget that I like wearing it, and an office job is the perfect place for it! I did spend the whole day feeling super toned down, but such is life. I can’t always be ridiculously dressed, I suppose.

Also? Can I just say about the above pose? I have a perpetual fear of being photographed from the side angle. I’m not the thinnest girl (I’m healthy, though, and I love my body), and I have a stomach condition that causes almost constant tummy bloat. So I live in fear of sideways shots and appearing pregnant. But this dress is fluffy and full enough that I could totally pull off a sideways shot! Because now you’ll never know if it’s just windy (which it was) or what!

I’ll admit, though, it does help that I get to bring my favorite ridiculous “business briefcase”  with me, though!


How about our readers (we know you’re out there!)? Do any of you have those easy-peasy pieces hiding in the back of your closet? How do you doll up a piece that’s on the bland side?

2 responses to “Sequins: The Back of the Closet

  1. hehe love this!! sometimes u never know what u will find in the back of the closet and this worked out well 🙂

    http://www.LoveandIDo.wordpress.com

    • Thanks! It was definitely a pleasant surprise. It’s a little dangerous, though, because this skirt is too light to withstand the intense winds we get safely! I spent the whole day fairly paranoid…

Leave a Reply

