Sequins & Stripes: The Orphan Christmas

Stripes, Plaid and I are on our second year of celebrating Orphan Christmas. For sure, none of us are actual orphans, but this is how we celebrate before Christmas with our respective families, to kick things off if you shall. This is a bit of a dual-post, so Sequins is commenting in the standard text, and Stripes in commenting in italics. Enjoy!

We decorated Plaid’s miniature plastic tree, Timmy, along with the tree Stripes and Plaid picked out, Dougal. We spend the whole evening eating Christmas food, decorating the trees, and crafting it up. I’ll show you guys what I made later on, because it was pretty spectacular.

The whole process gets a little silly. Yeah…this lift was a last minute decision but as you may be able to tell, I am actually lower than if I had stood. But hey! Anything I’ll do anything for a silly picture!

This picture reveals a truth that hasn’t cropped up before now on the blog before now–Stripes and I are total hipsters. And these are our hipster faces, posing with our hipster angels (they had a tags on them that said they might cause birth defects. I have no idea why we still have them…). It’s really because we were, like, the first people to have them. And we understand some people wouldn’t keep them but really we’ve just always put them on our shared holiday tree. 

Even Stripes’ Halloween cat was in the festive spirit. That’s Oliver! I LOVE him! I got him right before Halloween and vowed to decorate him for every holiday. We skipped Thanksgiving because I was in the process of moving but he will for sure make several cameos in the future.

Stripes insisted that I needed to be more festive, as well. Only because you weren’t as infected with holiday cheer as Plaid and myself. And despite the face she’s making I think she found joy amidst our silliness. And you know wearing ornaments is totally en vogue…according to Oliver, anyways. 

Stripes was pretty into the whole thing. We also did presents, and that was where Stripes and I unleashed our Pinterest fury, starting with the wrapping and all the way down to the gifts themselves.

Stripes decorated her gifts pretty amazingly, complete with ribbon.

I was a touch lazy (okay, a lot lazy) with my gift wrapping and I just used a box from Michaels. I wrapped it in some really nice looking hemp, though, and included my signature impossible-to-undo-without-scissors knot. It’s a tradition. These knots are BRUTAL! But she totally pinterested it up, too, with the hemp. That stuff has been all over the place lately.

It’s a bit of an inside joke (well, rather, it’s more knowing-that-Stripes-has-an-obsession-with-Guinea-Pigs thing), but I got Stripes the plastic Guinea Pig pictured above, and I made five or so party hats for her to wear (her name is Guineviere). Stripes shared the party hat love with her other Guinea Pig, the soft, fluffy, grumpy one pictured above.

The fluffy one is actually named Mr. Grumpy Guinea Pig and Plaid bought him for me a couple months ago because life had me down. Well, he and my main Harold [known to everyone else as that stuffed lion that sits on my bed] did not hit it off. After feeling guilty for leaving Mr. Grumpy Guinea Pig with Harold and Harold looking more and more upset everyday I realized Mr. Grumpy had to move to my bookshelf. I get a little too involved with my “inanimate objects” (I have seriously named almost everything I have owned at one point or another- Edward the plant, Esmeralda my car, oh yeah and Oliver :P) but I think it’s just a side of effect of watching Toy Story as a kid- admittedly reinforced by Toy Story 3…I digress. 

Sequins made Plaid and myself some really neat cards! She makes the greatest cards (and they’re very pinteresty). I am super in love with the Hello one and may just keep it for myself!

This is a sad picture of an ornament I made for Plaid inspired by this Pinterest post…look for more in the near future!

This was the other ornament I made for Plaid. I LOVE him! I just used some Fimo, decided to make a monster, and this was the result. I think he is super cool and I kind of wish I had one for myself…To MICHAELS! Time to get more clay!

So those are the highlights of our mini-Christmas celebration. We hope you enjoyed our excessively Pinterested festivities-if you have any questions about how we made anything feel free to leave a comment and we’ll share our crafty secrets. 

Happy Holidays!

Stripes, Sequins, Plaid, and Oliver!

Leave a Reply

