Stripes: Influence

Time for a Stripes fun fact: I grew up in a town with two LDS churches in it and because of this I have had a ton of Mormon friends. I’ve never belonged to the church, though I’ve gone to plenty church sponsored events, but I spent the better part of high school being mistaken for Mormon based on my attire (and my personality, which I take as a HUGE compliment!) which is probably why I felt so at home in this outfit.I didn’t set out to “look Mormon” this morning it just kind of happened. Story of my life, I suppose. But really, I woke up this morning and wanted to wear this skirt. It’s been sitting in my closet giving me disapproving looks for months.I got it from Sequin’s sister and had no idea how to style it; I just knew it would be a good addition to my closet. So I’ve thought about different ways I could wear it since then and when I woke this morning I knew it was THE day. I was going to wear it! And so I did…after trying on about 15 shirt combos. I guess it was just needed to be styled “Mormon”. The cardigan/knee length skirt combo was a favorite of mine in high school but I haven’t dabbled much on it since then. After this outfit, however, I think there are more skirts like this in my future!

Coat & Tights: Khols (both old), Scarf: Pedro's (old), Sweater & Shirt: Old Navy (old), Skirt: Romy (old), Shoes: Lucky Brand via Macy's (recent).

And this is definitely an “ooooo! look at the shiny!” picture. But with the coat, I think I am seeing yet another color trend sneaking up on me 😛

-Stripes

Leave a Reply

