Stripes: Color Ruts

Have you ever just felt at home in an outfit? This is SO my “homey” outfit. I am in love with sweaters, I love thick belts (can I get a shout out from my small waisted big hipped ladies!), I love blue, and I love how comfy this feels. In essence, if I had to describe myself as an outfit, I would use this one. Hands down.

Story time: So, I went through a phase that lasted about 2 years where I bought almost exclusively blue or white clothes. This sweater was purchased in the midst of that era. It was totally unintentional. I definitely did not mean to buy exclusively one color of clothing-it just kind of happened. The fun part now, with the help of some lovely ladies like Miss Sequins, is buying new colors to accent my blue wardrobe.Which is why I have so many brown accents…I am kind of in a brown accent rut now. I guess I’m just a predictable kind of person but at least I can almost OCDly match the crap out of my wardrobe! Did I mention that all of my metal accessories are silver (save one gold necklace from my parents)? I’ve been doing that one since I was in middle school as an act of rebellion from my gold loving mother. I know, way to show ’em, right?

Sweater: Gap Outlet (old), Undershirt: Walmart (old), Belt: PacSun (old), Jeans: Gap (old, modern boot cut, though, so they may have similar styles still), Boots: Rocket Dog via Famous Footwear (old), Bracelet: Express (recent-ish), Earrings: Lucky Brand via Macys (old).

Maybe I’m just into my ruts because it’s like wearing a piece of home where ever you go? I suppose we could go all philosophical and view it as a symbol of comfort and self-identity against oppression….waaaait, finals are over…screw this. I just like being comfy. And I like the color blue.

Stripes

Leave a Reply

