Stripes: Pinterest Challenge: Pumpkin Cake w/ Bonus Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting

Hey!

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and, if you’re choosing to celebrate, Black Friday. This year was my first year not returning home for the holidays (it is a lot less fun when you don’t eat meat or dairy and by volunteering to work this one, I got both Christmas and New Years off. Fair trade, if you ask me) and because of this I found several little ways to get into the Thanksgiving spirit. One of which, was to make these cupcakes I have been lusting after for the last couple of months (I also whipped up some mashed potatoes and peas to eat for dinner…the only thing aside from pumpkin pie and a roll I would have had anyways).

I seriously started scouring the store for canned pumpkin in late summer, but couldn’t find any until about a month ago. Since then I’ve thought abut making them at least once a week but I’ve been too busy to bake in the craziness that has been the last couple weeks so I kept putting it off.

These are seriously the easiest cupcakes ever. There are only 2 ingredients: yellow cake and pumpkin. While I was at the store earlier that day I decided a cream cheese frosting would be amazing on these guys since the recipe only calls for a sprinkling of powdered sugar, so I called my lovely friend Josh (who seriously knows everything about baking) and got the recipe for a basic cream cheese frosting. This is a picture of the frosting…I forgot to take pictures of the cake batter.

The frosting ended up being 16 oz of cream cheese, 3/4 of a can of pumpkin, several table spoons of powdered sugar, and loads of pumpkin spice and cinnamon. I mixed this up while the cupcakes were in the oven and frosted them after popping the cupcakes in the fridge for a little bit to help them cool. This is the final product. They were a little to dairy-full for my tummy so I didn’t really get to enjoy them BUT I sent them to a friend’s house and they went over well. So while I am bummed I didn’t get to really eat my weight in pumpkin cupcakes, the holidays are all about, in my book anyways, sharing love (and more importantly, baked goods) with your friends.

I also have a bonus challenge I am going to post tomorrow and I will give you three hints about what I have on the docket:

One- I got it on Black Friday

Two- It smells uh-mazing

Three- It’s a craft I’ve never tried before

I am beyond excited for this project (literally, I mused about it for about 4 hours of my 8 hour shift last night). Any guesses on what I am up to?

Until tomorrow,

Stripes

Leave a Reply

