A Hair How To: Flat Iron Waves

When I learned how to do this technique last June my mind was blown; I’d heard rumors of girls using their one inch flat irons to curl their hair but I couldn’t understand how it worked. To be honest, I’m still not sure I get what happens on a physics level but I do know that I can take my hair from this:

To this:

In under 10 minutes and it lasts all day. Yes folks, this is 100% possible even if your hair can’t hold a curl from a curling iron/curlers/all those other fancy ways people on pinterest try to curl their hair without heat (because mine usually is completely flat in under 20 minutes, regardless of how much hairspray I use). I swear this is the miracle curling method and I’m here to tell you, you can do this and rock awesome waves!

The Tools:

-Chi Flat Iron (this baby gets as hot as 410 degrees)
-Aussie Heat Protecting Spray
-Nexxus Mouse
-Nexxus Hairspray
-Claw Clip
-Flat Brush

The Prep Work:

I used  the heat protector and mousse to dry my hair. I usually finger dry my hair and then use my round brush to curl the ends but since I knew I was going to curl my hair today, I just made sure the moisture was out and let it sit for a little bit before attacking it with more heat devices. I’m pretty sure my hair appreciates the break and it helps the curl hold better if your hair is cool when you start using your flat iron.

Step 1- Section Off Hair:

Because of how thick my hair is, I like to do three big sections that span all the way around my head. I use my claw clip to keep the sections I’m not going to work with out of my way and brush out the section I’m planning to curl. And, yes, I do realize just how sexy this half up half down swept over on shoulder look is. Ohhh yeaaaah. Especially with the white wife beater.

Step 2- Curling A Chunk of Hair:

You want to pick up a chunk of hair (I usually do between 1 and 3 inch chunks- the bigger the chunk the looser the curl…which also translates to use bigger chunks if you’re seeking out cool beachy waves over Shirley Temple-esque curls) and clamp the flat iron straight up and down onto the section.

Then you want to rotate it 180 degrees (or a half turn) and slowly pull your hair through the iron. You don’t need to keep rotating the iron as you pull the hair through but you can if you would like to make your curls tighter.

Now you have a curl!

Step 3- Repeat Step 2 on All the Chunks and Sections of Hair:

Yeah, it’s really that simple. You can do all your curls in the same direction then brush it out for big glam waves but I usually vary the direction I do my curls because it makes them look more natural. You can do a lot of styles and variations with this technique which rocks because this is SO easy to learn how to do!

Step 4- Brush it Out:

After some resent research I found out the best way to break curls down into waves is by gently using a flat paddle brush rather than using your fingers (which ends up giving the opposite look. So to minimize the Texas look my hair can have after being curled (no hate to our Texan friends), I like to gently brush my hair out.

Step 5- Hairspray the Crap Out of It and Admire Your Work:

With a hairstyle so simple and quick, it’s hard not to.

Step 6: Make Some Silly Faces:

Because why not?!

If you have any questions about how I do this, please ask in the comments section, I’d love to help anyone who felt as adept at curling their has as I used to! Happy Sunday everyone!

Leave a comment