Sequins: What to Wear to a Bonfire

So I think there’s a lot of confusion and skepticism in the blogging world about what bloggers wear in Real Life versus what they present on the blog. I hope I have some built up street cred, if you know what I’m sayin’, since a large majority of my outfits were taken on my lunch break. That being said, this outfit is one of the (if not The) first outfits I’ve staged entirely for the purposes of the blog. It’s cool, though, because I checked through my life archives (completely unrelated to blogging in any way), and yes, this is exactly what I would wear to anything that requires the outdoors and possibility of dirt.

Shirt: gift, Necklace: Market, Shorts: Target, Tights: gift Express, Shoes: H&M

This has also turned, magically, into the outfit I’m going to wear for the rest of the day. This is the first day in months that I’ve needed to add tights! Woohooo! Lordy I missed my tights. Anyway. This outfit comprises the main essentials to a daily look for me. Especially a “me” that isn’t working every weekday anymore. It has:

  • a brightly colored and vibrantly patterned shirt that’s oversized
  • sentimental piece of jewelry
  • shorts
  • bright (& comfy) tights
  • cute shoes that still work for dirt-related purposes

That’s literally all I would ever wear if my life consisted of exactly days like this. The shirt was a gift from this gentleman I met a couple years back when I was living at home. He moved here for school/work from Cameroon, and we had a few really great months of getting to know each other and learn more about our different cultures. He teased me because this is a men’s shirt, but honestly, it’s so damned comfortable I just can’t stand it. I have a full shirt & pants combo for a woman, but that outfit gets worn with much less frequency.

 

As for bonfires go, I swap what are usually ballet flats for shoes that tie, and I add layers. This is definitely a “if the weather is warm” look, but the tights do add some additional heat. And, you know, if it’s a bonfire in the woods, then I can definitely have extra points for visibility. You know this is a staged photo because if I’m actually rough-and-tumbling it, I don’t wear tights that are still hole-free and this comfortable (seriously, guys, have I mentioned how much I love these red tights?). Other than that, though, just slap on some mosquito repellent and I’m good to go!

I originally thought I wouldn’t have time this morning to go out and get a couple photos of myself, so I made a collage of my favorite “being outdoors with the chance of dirt” outfits. It was a ton of fun, and made me nostalgic for the days when I would wear what-the-fuck-ever. The time to start doing that again is now, and it’s starting with the outfit in this post! Woo!

Thanks for tuning in! I’m  so excited to be a part of this, and it’s fun to be making friends on the internets through this link up. You guys should totally check them out as well, since they kick ass.

Nicole at Gypsy in Jasper
Sondra at Abhaya
Adriana at Horses of Ares
Lisa at Not Ladylike

4 responses to “Sequins: What to Wear to a Bonfire

  1. I adore your shirt and the whole outfit. You are absolutely the cutest. I don’t stage my photos either. Generally it’s what I wore on the day, but if I know it’s going to be a What to Wear photoshoot day, first I think about what I would wear for that occasion and then I wear it all day. (Aside from the garden post and the beach post, of course.)

    It’s been great to meet you, as well! You’re awesome!!

  2. Once I get over this whole sickness thing, I must participate in a What to Wear! This looks like so much fun. And what better way to start than with a bonfire outfit?

    Anyhow, I love that shirt on you! I never would’ve guessed it’s a men’s shirt because you work it so well. 🙂

    Also, I’m kinda jealous of how cute your outfits are even when you’re not trying. I especially love the outfit you’re wearing in front of the tree with the cream hoodie, blue shorts, and gray tights. Quite inspiring!

  3. That is a CRAZY shirt! I love it!

    Red tights are the best.

  4. this looks like an outfit nicole would definitely wear! great top.. lots of color and awesome pattern!

Leave a comment